//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

grrrrrr!

why is it that every time I look at the winners for screenwriting contests, like tonight, they’re all men? seriously! okay, not all, but about 90%, in my not-so-humble opinion. and especially genres! bastards!

what’s the first thing someone asks me when they find out I’m a screenwriter? “Oh you write dramas and/or romantic comedies?”

HELL no. okay, I did write a romantic comedy once but it was as a challenge to myself and believe me, it was a challenge.

I love explosions. I love guns. I love sex. I curse like a sailor (possibly worse, given my creativity). I’m a smartass. I love car chases. badges excite me. (so do handcuffs, but that’s another screenplay… hehehehe) I live for complex, tortured characters. I love characters who can shoot as fast as they can mouth-off, sometimes faster.

with all of that, why do people see a woman’s name and automatically assume she’s going to write something light and fluffy, or a tear-jerker?

okay. end of rant. at least for now.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “grrrrrr!

  1. I wonder what the result would be if you entered a screenwriting contest using a masculine-sounding nom de plume?

    Posted by mgt | June 23, 2006, 7:17 am
    • actually, I wasn’t commenting on me personally getting rejected (trust me, you’ll know that whimper when I utter it *wry grin*) I was commenting on the sexism of genre writing. how people assume that because I’m female, I must write romantic comedies or tear-jerking dramas.

      Posted by nancymgriffis | June 25, 2006, 9:53 pm
      • i know, hon. just found that and wanted to link you; i thought the comment thread was interesting, too.
        and yeah, with the sexism. obviously girls don’t like explosions and car chases, much less write them. :/ we’re all about romance and flowers and shit like that.
        er. not that i dont like flowers and love. it’s just that i like big bada booms, too.

        Posted by skripka | June 25, 2006, 10:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

  • RT @SaraJBenincasa: Jesuit attitude is my favorite attitude because they will throw shade with footnotes and MLA citations https://t.co/6sV… 2 days ago
  • RT @ChrisEvans: Wow. Are there any Republicans in Washington who will take a REAL stand? Are there ANY leaders left? History will remember. 2 days ago
  • RT @shondarhimes: He bragged at inexperience- turns out he's unqualified. He mocked/shamed/groped - turns out he's a bully. He embraced rac… 2 days ago
