//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Sudden realization…WGAw strike *headdesk*

if the WGAw pickets outside of ABCFamily come Monday, I’m screwed. I won’t cross a picket line. Never have, never will. This is the first time it would affect my income, but it doesn’t matter. I’ve worked enough shit jobs in my life where a union could have made it, oh, safe to work that I won’t cross any picket line.

that being said, this particular strike is something I believe in. not because it effects my future as a writer (because so far only my novel has sold), but because the AMPTP are being buttheads. now, I realize that there’s room for being buttheads on both sides and the guild has done its fair share of oopsies in the negotiations, at least from what I’ve read, but seriously. a writer currently gets .03/dvd that gets sold. that’s ridiculous when dvd’s are, what, $15 on average and it costs $2 or less to make the physical product? and yes, there’s marketing and whatnot, but a lot of the bigger dvds sell themselves depending on the fandom/franchise.

and it’s not just dvd sales/residuals at stake, btw. from what I understand, unless it’s built into a specific contract, writers get bupkis from new media like an episode being replayed online or sold through iTunes. I don’t know about you, but I have commercial interruptions during my online broadcasts and where there’s a commercial, someone’s getting paid.

there’s other stuff, too, of course, but since I’m not actually a member of the guild, I don’t have the specifics. not that it matters because what it all boils down to is that I may put myself out of a job come Monday and I don’t even get paid as a screenwriter yet.

why yes I am an idiot, why do you ask?

also, if you want a good account of what’s going on, visit http://www.artfulwriter.com where a working hollywood writer gives you his opinion of what’s going on.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

