//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

webisode series explanation

for those not familiar with what a webisode is, it’s basically an online short. some tv shows now have webisodes. like missing scenes about what happens between episodes that air only on the network’s website.

my webisode series is called RL and centers on a group of people who are all interconnected in various ways, if not all (close) friends. it’s kind of like a way more diverse QaF, or OC or L Word. very soapy (which is a lot of fun!) and overly dramatic. *snickers*

it’s mostly focused on everyone’s relationships, hence the “RL” title. half the cast will be gay/lesb/bi and the other half straight, but that’s a minor consideration to the actual storylines. it’s not about coming out or gay bashing or, well okay, there’s sex (gay and straight). tasteful, under the blankets sex since it will be airing for general consumption, of course.

so here’s what I’m going to do. this is a total learning experience for me. I’m going to be doing everything myself except acting the parts. (we definitely don’t want me in front of the camera. hehehehe) I’m going to write here in my lj about the nuts and bolts of how the production is coming along as it happens so you all can share in my manic-ness and insanity. I suspect it’s going to be a lot of hurry up and wait.

for instance…

I wrote 1st drafts of the 10 episodes last week, varying from 7-10 pages each. I’m letting them percolate a week before taking a 2nd pass.

I’ve put together lists of everything I can possibly think of that I will need to do (altho I’m sure I’m forgetting/not thinking of, plenty) to make everything happen. but of course, I still have more lists to make (locations, props, etc.).

I’ve written up the ‘casting call’ email and am about to write up a ‘music call’ email as well for an accompanying soundtrack.

I’ve got my minidv camera and mike picked out and ready to purchase but have no money right now to make those purchases.

so basically, I have to wait until I can buy the camera (not long, just a little over a week. yay!) and then I’ll spend june learning how to use it. expect a lot of video uploads in a few weeks as I film unsuspecting peoples around me to practice. those who want to know what cali looks like? you’re about to get plenty. *grin* my youtube account is escapedwriter, if anyone wants to friend me. or however that works. I’m still not very familiar with youtube yet.

once I’m comfortable that I know what I’m doing behind the camera, I’ll make sure I have all my locations locked down (finding a bakery is gonna be a serious bitch lemme tell ya).

once I have all my locations locked down, then out goes the casting and music calls. auditions will be in july. rehearsal and filming will happen in august.

editing/posting will happen in september. hopefully. if I don’t completely screw things up. *knocks on wood*

so there you have it. the blueprint for an indie webisode series. let’s see how things develop, shall we? :o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

  • #whyarethecamerasoff 1 day ago
  • if this madness disguised as healthcare passes, I want "preventable - lack of insurance" as a new option on death certificates. 4 days ago
  • RT @Spacekatgal: It's not enough to be angry. This only ends when we have the political power to stop them. You need to donate money, time… 5 days ago
