//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

my new favorite acting hero!

Chad Allen! you know, I hadn’t thought about him in years and years, not since Dr. Quinn where he played the eldest son, for those of you who recognize the name, but can’t place it. Then someone told me (my friend Shanyle, I think) to watch the Don Strachey Mysteries, most of which are now on dvd. Essentially, they’re about a gay detective in Albany, NY and based on a series of books, which I haven’t yet read.

the movies are just wonderful! the first one’s a little shlocky, but they smoothe out as the actors get settled in their roles and the writing and production aspects really step up and come into their own by the end of the series. I’m hoping it’s not over, that more movies will be coming out, but haven’t seen anything yet.

the best thing about the movies are how don and timmy (his husband in the series) are in a loving, stable relationship. they have arguments, share breakdowns, tease and love each other just like any other couple in it for the long haul. the stories are fun and interesting, although plotwise nothing too astonishing, but still engaging. like I said, it’s the characters that make the movies.

so after seeing all the Strachey movies, I was scouring netflix for other Chad movies and came across Save Me. I was really just blown away by his portrayal of a screwed up druggie gay man who was “enrolled” in a christian “get straight” program by his brother and mother who were at their wits end.

I was all squirmy/uncomfortable at the blatant Christianity played by Judith Light and, well, everyone. they truly believe that they can change their nature by letting Christ into their hearts. the actors really brought it across and even though the whole subject is a touchy one for me personally, it came across as very honest.

Chad’s character takes it all to heart and gets off the drugs and tries to deny himself, but falls for one of the other members and the feeling’s mutual. I won’t go into any further detail so as not to spoil it, I’ll just say that it’s a very good movie and you should all rent it. as a caveat, if watching gay sex bothers you, (although it’s not any more graphic than in Brokeback, if slightly longer, imo) you should bypass the first 5-7 minutes of the film.

anyhow. I guess I just wanted to put it out there, to say that I love how out and proud Chad is and to share. :o)

his website, for those of you interested:
http://www.chadallenonline.com/index1.html

go! watch! enjoy! :o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

