//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

writing and then some…

so a couple weeks ago I decided at the last minute to go to something called Pitchfest. it’s basically a giant cattle call for screenwriters. I met with ten various agents/managers/production companies through the day. a few were very positive, a couple sucked big time (my fault, as I’d never done it before), and I have no idea about the others. sent some follow-up emails last week and this, have a couple more to do yet, and hopefully soon someone will call and set up a real meeting instead of a five-minute, “talk fast, I’m listening.” situation in a crowd of, literally, hundreds.

in other screenwriting news, I submitted a leverage spec to the Disney-ABC Writing Fellowship last week and next week will be submitting it to the WB Writers Workshop. The upshot is either a job at Disney/ABC or possible job placement at a working show through Warner Bros.

in novel news, I’ve finished Eternal Investigations, am partway through the sequel to Mind Games, and am working on a new series altogether about a pair of lovers after an apocalyptic event. started it a while ago, but just have not had a chance to work on it for ags.

in more novel news, I’ll be participating in the labor day marathon writing contest. I’ve got a pretty cool idea and will be doing my research all summer on the Knights Templar. if anyone has personal recommendations or reading materials, that would be very helpful. heading off to the library this weekend. should be fun!

for life news I’m just plugging along temping at Warner Bros still. no car yet. working my way through the Complete Sherlock Holmes Vol II which is a complete coincidence of the RDJ movie at xmas. bought it before I even saw the first preview. now I just need to find Vol I since I bought Vol II at a $1 book store. I didn’t even realize it was a Vol II.

oh, and I’m another year older. had a birthday last month. man, I’m gettin old.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

