//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

the good, the bad, and the omfg my ass hurts CotT recap

It is 11:01PST on 11/7/09 and while I officially have 57 minutes left, I am freakin done, man. stick a fork in me, because I am toast.

I want to get this down while it’s all still very, very fresh. raw even. paaaainfully raw. heh.

repeat after me:
1. Nancy will get an actual chair for her desk as soon as monetarily possible. You don’t know pain until you spend 40 hours in a plastic lawn chair with a (mostly) flat pillow as a "cushion" and a chiro traction pillow for back support. (neck traction pillow, btw). I think my ass is officially flat now. God knows my back is screaming bloody murder.

2. Nancy will get some kind of a/c unit. Writing when it’s 95F+ is practically impossible, never mind trying to do it 2 out of the three days.

3. Nancy’s brain stops functioning somewhere around 4 hours of sleep/night, 3 nights in a row.

aside from the physical discomfort of writing non-stop for 3 days, I’m pretty disappointed in my progress. I did not reach my goal. I only got the first half of the book written, not the whole thing.  I suppose, technically, if I flesh out the chapters I have here, this could be a whole book, it is close to the minimum word count, which is generally 60k. that’s why I’m sending it in anyhow, even though I don’t consider it finished.

all put together, the first section of the book stands at 53,677 words, which in novel format works out to 192 pages. the good news for this means that when the book’s actually done, I should top 100k words! now that I’m looking forward to. :o)

I suppose the fact that I actually participated counts for something, even if I didn’t achieve my goal. plus I’m really damn pleased with the story itself. as a first draft, I think it’s pretty awesome. heh. not that I’m biased or anything.

I am now off to bed and sleeping until 11:30 whereupon I will get up, take an amazingly long hot shower and then hobble off to the first the print shop to print and mail this baby and then chiropractor’s office and then buy food.

will I participate again next year? abso-damn-lutely! 

night all!

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……….

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

