//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

it’s a reunion!

heh. so I finally caught up on all the dollhouse eps aired to date (I love hulu) and…

wow. I can’t believe the number of Whedon alums that have been on the show this season! first Alan (tho technically he was on last season too), then Alexis, then Summer! not that I don’t love seeing them all again, because they all rock.

the thing that did bother me a little was summer’s character, Bennett. as a “mad scientist” type, she was very similar to River on Firefly. as a writer, I wonder if he created the character and thought of Summer, or the other way around? I know when I write that I think of who I want to play the parts, but then, I don’t have actor friends looking for work to pressure me, even if they don’t say a word.

Alan, as always, was phenomenal as Alpha. he does scary-crazy so awesome! I totally believe that he would cut my throat as soon as look at me. and Alexis did a great job as the righteous senator. I loved that he was half a doll, even tho I figured that part out almost right away.

loved alpha knowing all about echo’s non-affair with ballard while they were on the outside and showing the pics to adele. I am very disappointed in adele, tho. I really thought she was growing a conscience, but she traded it in for the easy path of power. not surprising, I suppose, tho I am hoping that she’s playing a game that no one else knows about yet. wouldn’t put it passed her. I do love my devious women and I think Joss does, too.

as an openly envious aside, I noticed a Jed Whedon in the credits. wish I had a producer relative/benefactor like Joss. le sigh. good for him, tho! he’s got other credits, so it’s not like he has no talent. or, so I assume. heh.

it was a long road (probably complicated by network *ahem* suggestions), but the show is now openly about more than just the “engagements” with Echo becoming a fully realized person of her own. I knew we’d get here, just wasn’t sure when. and yes, that’s a spoiler outside the cut, but vague enough not to irritate people, I hope.

for those of you who have avoided Dollhouse up til now, I would say you shouldn’t. I mean, I’ve always advocated the show, but know certain parts of it were squicky for others. as I’ve said before ,and shall again, trust the Joss. he’ll make it all work in the end, as he’s done now. :o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

