//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Nancy’s very, very, very busy weekend!

So it started on Friday when my friend Cynthia and I went to see “Let Me In,” which actually isn’t all that bad. If you’re expecting action, though, you’re going to be seriously disappointed because it has a slow pace. It had a couple of interesting takes on the vampire mythos and the acting was good, but still pretty slow.

After the movie, we went back to her place and hung out because Sat she had both running practice (she’s doing a cancer run, go “support her!” ) and a yardsale to raise money for said cancer run. So I stayed overnight on the premise that I could be up early with her roomie and get things out and set up for the yardsale, which was a neighborhood thing.

We were up til around midnight (she was up later!) and then I was awake and out the door hauling things out by 7:45am Sat. People were already showing up! Yikes! All I can say is that it’s a good thing I can (mostly) speak spanish because of the 8 people at the yardsale, I was the only one who could.

You really don’t know humor until you’re haggling in a second language. Seriously!

One woman was going for all the dvds and man, she was kinda scary so I dropped from $20 to $15 just to get her hard-stare off me! I stayed firm on a pair of boots and heels, though. Got the woman up from $7 to $12, which was down from my original $15. Not too shabby. I’ve apparently missed my calling as a haggler.

Of all the days for it to rain, the sky decided that day was perfect. But only until I ran inside to get my umbrella. When I got back out, after I was already thoroughly wet, it stopped. No big surprise there, right?

The really funny bit came later in the morning, though, when this older man (german or slavic of some sort) came around looking for first perfume, then changed his mind and wanted cologne. Neither of which we really had. And then he decided to follow one of the sellers back towards the houses because she was plugging in a lamp for someone to show them it really worked. I told him no, he couldn’t go back there. Another seller told him no, he couldn’t go back there. Apparently women don’t count, though, because it wasn’t until the lone man of our group told him not to, that he stopped. Oy. To top it off? He for some bizarre reason asked the guy seller if he had any liquor to sell. Vodka, rum, whatever. It was very weird. And he kept coming back!

We closed down around 3pm and packed things up. Cyn thought one of the women was going to have a heart attack from the heat, clutched her chest and everything. We helped her get her things in the car and told her to get some rest.

The good news is that we raised ~$100 for the run!! Yay!

About 10 minutes after we collapsed inside, Cynthia’s roomie shouts, “what are you ladies doing tonight?” and Cynthia and I both kinda laugh and shout back, “Nothing!” because really? wiped. out.

Turned out that her bf’s friend’s gf came down sick so neither of them could go (funny how that happens, right? one’s sick and neither can go? ;o) ) to the Dodgers’ game that night. Well c’mon. It’s a free baseball game, so how could we say no? We dragged out wiped out asses up and got ready to go. We were out the door at 5pm and swung by to pick up the bf, who drove us all to the Dodgers Stadium.

My first time there! It was gorgeous, I have to say. Very shiny and new, unlike Fenway. (*ducks and runs from Sox fans*) and had actual seats instead of bleachers (*ducks again*). We were actually pretty close to the action, which was cool, and got to see the kids hanging on the fences all night asking the arizona team to sign their balls, since their warmup place was right where we were. It was cute and annoying all at the same time. Plus, like, aren’t you supposed to get signatures from the home team? I’m just sayin.’

The game was a lot of fun! I didn’t know what was going on more than half the time, but that’s fine, too.

Things Nancy Learned About Baseball:
1. Live baseball has a pause function where the teams re-warmup and they pretty up the field. Over and over and over again throughout the game. (this I just don’t get, because in soccer you play in rain/snow/mud/slush and the field gets torn the hell and gone)
2. The concept of team spirit and the sensation/participation of it are extremely different things.
3. Yes, there really are “blink and you miss it” moments in life. I can’t tell you the number of times I asked, “what just happened? what did I miss?” sat night.
4. If you wear fleece and there are small children around, they will pet you.
5. Food at baseball games puts the movie prices to shaaame! OMFG it’s expensive!

The only 2 irritants were this one guy who kept shouting at the top of his lungs, “Let’s go Dodgers, Let’s go!” and these girls who decided not to be outdone and kept shouting, “Defense!” with the subsequent pounding of feet or hands or whatever. And isn’t that chant for basketball?

We won! It was an exciting game, even if I didn’t know what was happening half the time.

So we get home sat nite and no one’s got the energy to drive me home, so I spend another night on their sofa. Sunday morning comes around and I wake up my usual 8am and hang out with my iTouch waiting for Cynthia to wake up and come downstairs. And I wait. And Wait! The roomie comes down around noon and I ask if Cynthia shows any signs of waking up and she’s all, “She’s up and on her pc.” Turns out Cynthia was awake around the same time and waiting for me to come upstairs. Oy!

We popped into IHOP for brunch (along with half of sherman oaks) and then she drops me home almost exactly the same time she picked me up on Friday.

Needless to say, I slept in today to recover. Just as well I’m not working because between the sunburn from sat’s yardsale and the lack of sleep, I was wiped. out.

But I had fun, raised money, and learned about baseball, so it was a good weekend. ;o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

