//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Friday nite’s Spring Fling Dance details…


 so I got all gussied up to go to a dance a the LA GLBT center last night. y’all would’ve been proud how girly I looked. ;o) must say it was kind of nice to actually have something to dress up for. not that I went all ballgowny, but a nice pair of pants, a shirt that showed a bit of my *ahem* assets, some makeup and jewelry. too bad no one was around to photog the minor miracle, eh? hee!

as usual, most of the night was spent waiting for the bus. and since I didn’t know exactly where this place was I wound up going waaay further out and then doubling back quite a ways. but I’ll know for next time. now I got conflicting times for the start of this thing. the website said 8pm but the confirmation email said 10pm. since there’s no way I can start anything at 10pm on the bus system, I crossed my fingers and aimed for 8pm. I actually arrived around 8:40ish, which wasn’t bad since I didn’t leave until 7:20pm and didn’t really know where I was going. I’d’ve been there sooner, but got off way too early and had to wait for the next one.

so up I step to a festively decorated (balloon bridges overhead) building with tables in the courtyard with a dj stand on the opposite side and the in-between for a dance area. there were people eating actual meals at the tables and I think to myself, "self? why is there a dinner going on when it’s supposed to be a dance?" self didn’t answer so I walked up to the sign in table and discovered that it was a pre-dance dinner, so I was in the right place. 

 
I was the youngest one there. *headdesk* still. free food. so I wandered around the room where they were serving and they had some modern art on the walls that, yes, I still don’t get. I understand its importance and the breakthrough artist (a leading gay aids activist who died of the disease) but no, I still don’t actually understand the art itself. basically, I was stalling while trying to decide, "do I sit alone at a table or find a friendly old person to sit with?" 

so this woman, Serena, must’ve thought I looked a bit lost as I wandered closer to the buffet table and struck up a conversation. she’s probably only about 7-10 years older than me and very nice. she works at the center and either helped or actually organized the event. asked how I’d heard about it and was glad the facebook ad worked. so she sits down at a table with two other women who looked like they were around my age, Melitza and her partner Gary Dai who were also both very nice. Gary talked most of the time (she loves Patrick Swayze in Roadhouse) and she also works at the center.
 
the music was way too loud for the dinner portion and it was hard for me to hear exactly what everyone was saying. (this almost-lip-reading talent of mine does come in handy. I just hope no one assumes the wrong thing when I stare at their mouth for too long. heh.) we chatted most of the night and while the music wasn’t bad, it didn’t really make me want to get up and dance. plus, dancing solo makes me feel really silly/self-conscious as much as I love to dance. but melitza and gary dragged me up for a few songs so I kind of did the high school shuffle along the edges. hehehe. 
 
mostly, I had a lot of fun people watching. my nana would have been proud. hee! there was an old couple who were probably close to/in their 70s dancing up a storm. they were very stereotypically lesbian with "man/woman" ways of dressing. products of their time, no doubt. not that we don’t still have butch/femme modes, because we do. (and that’s a whoooole other thesis statement I won’t get into here and now) they were so adorable tho, shaking their booty. and there was another couple in their 40s who just danced danced danced all night. and they danced right, too, from line dancing to ballroom to a little bit of salsa. there was a black boi in her late-50s (I  think) and she was just awesome. she danced left and right with different women. I’m thinking she was a hot mama on the prowl back in the 70s, as cool as she moved. 
 
the younger crowd finally arrived around 9:30ish, but they were too cliquey for me to feel comfortable just popping over and inserting myself into the conversation. plus, no one over a size 8 and yes, that does make it more difficult for me as dumb as it sounds. one girl was in what looked like a skating outfit with a tanktop over it that said "gay" a million times in gray and then "legalize" in blood red across the center. ah, to be young and statement oriented again. ;o)

10pm comes around and it’s time for me to make my way home as I’m not entirely sure when the last bus is, but 11-something is my general expectation. I say goodbye and get gary’s email. also make a point to tell the dancing couple how great they looked. they told me there’s a gay/lesbian dance class every thurs at 7pm in hollywood. so hey, I might be dancing soon after all! hee! need to research that a bit to find out exactly how much/where. 
 
gary asks me if I feel safe walking back to the bus stop (she’s very sweet in her butchness) and I assure her I’ll be fine. not only am I fine, but there’s 2 motorcycle cops and a patrol unit arresting a dude for driving without a license at my stop. how do I know this? because the girlfriend’s demanding, "so you can just lock up someone for driving without a license??" of the cops as I walk by. so I stop at the bench were some guy’s sitting and go, "that sucks, huh?" and he just kinda looks at me so I move a little away. heh. like a minute later he walks over to the cops with a clipboard. d’oh! 
 
now we come to the worst part of the night. you guessed it!  the trek home. and I do mean freakin trek. you know, for all that everything’s in a 5 mile radius, it takes me two damn hours to get anywhere. literally. I didn’t get home until 12am. I was cold and my feet were killing me. still, it was a very nice night out and I may have made a couple of new friends. all in all, worth the aggravation of the (lack of) transportation system.
 
so what do you think? nancy the dancing fool next? lol! 
About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Friday nite’s Spring Fling Dance details…

  1. sounds good to me! woot!

    Posted by llaras | March 20, 2011, 7:32 am
  2. sounds good to me! woot!

    Posted by llaras | March 20, 2011, 7:32 am
  3. sounds good to me! woot!

    Posted by llaras | March 20, 2011, 7:32 am
  4. sounds good to me! woot!

    Posted by llaras | March 20, 2011, 7:32 am

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

  • RT @SaraJBenincasa: Jesuit attitude is my favorite attitude because they will throw shade with footnotes and MLA citations https://t.co/6sV… 2 days ago
  • RT @ChrisEvans: Wow. Are there any Republicans in Washington who will take a REAL stand? Are there ANY leaders left? History will remember. 2 days ago
  • RT @shondarhimes: He bragged at inexperience- turns out he's unqualified. He mocked/shamed/groped - turns out he's a bully. He embraced rac… 2 days ago
