//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Sucker Punch and Paul reviews

so without going into great detail or spoilers, Sucker Punch was visually stunning (no less than I’d expect from Bryan Singer) and had a great story behind it. my only problem is that they’re advertising this as a girl power movie and it’s not that at all. not even a little bit. the girls are all victims and there’s a lot of implied sexual violence/non-con going on, aka, pedophilia since they’re all under 15. or at least that’s the age they were portraying. 

I’m not saying that it isn’t worth seeing, far from it, but I do think that it should be rated R (something I never say) and that people ought to know it’s a dark movie. 

so after I finished watching it, I had to take time to decompress before continuing my double feature with Paul. now this movie was exactly as advertised with stupid jokes, adorable chemistry between nick and simon, lots of nerd lampooning, and the requisite car chases. in other words, hi-larious!! lots of fun and definitely something for both kids and adults, though some of the jokes would likely go over the kids’ heads. :o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Sucker Punch and Paul reviews

  1. It’s sad about Sucker Punch. I think that movie would trigger me hard core. But I’m glad to hear that Paul was fun. Definitely will have to try to see that.
    Hope you are well! *smoochies*

    Posted by llaras | March 31, 2011, 5:55 am
    • yeah, it’s a pretty dark film. what I don’t get is that it could have so easily made up for that darkness and *become* the inspiration/girl power film that they’ve advertised.
      definitely go for Paul. :o)
      and I’ve been better, but thanks for asking. *hugs* hope you’re well!

      Posted by nancymgriffis | April 1, 2011, 5:59 am
    • yeah, it’s a pretty dark film. what I don’t get is that it could have so easily made up for that darkness and *become* the inspiration/girl power film that they’ve advertised.

      definitely go for Paul. :o)

      and I’ve been better, but thanks for asking. *hugs* hope you’re well!

      Posted by nancymgriffis | April 1, 2011, 5:59 am
    • yeah, it’s a pretty dark film. what I don’t get is that it could have so easily made up for that darkness and *become* the inspiration/girl power film that they’ve advertised.

      definitely go for Paul. :o)

      and I’ve been better, but thanks for asking. *hugs* hope you’re well!

      Posted by nancymgriffis | April 1, 2011, 5:59 am
    • yeah, it’s a pretty dark film. what I don’t get is that it could have so easily made up for that darkness and *become* the inspiration/girl power film that they’ve advertised.

      definitely go for Paul. :o)

      and I’ve been better, but thanks for asking. *hugs* hope you’re well!

      Posted by nancymgriffis | April 1, 2011, 5:59 am
  2. It’s sad about Sucker Punch. I think that movie would trigger me hard core. But I’m glad to hear that Paul was fun. Definitely will have to try to see that.

    Hope you are well! *smoochies*

    Posted by llaras | March 31, 2011, 5:55 am
  3. It’s sad about Sucker Punch. I think that movie would trigger me hard core. But I’m glad to hear that Paul was fun. Definitely will have to try to see that.

    Hope you are well! *smoochies*

    Posted by llaras | March 31, 2011, 5:55 am
  4. It’s sad about Sucker Punch. I think that movie would trigger me hard core. But I’m glad to hear that Paul was fun. Definitely will have to try to see that.

    Hope you are well! *smoochies*

    Posted by llaras | March 31, 2011, 5:55 am

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

