//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

you know…

…a hell of a lot of attention is being paid to the people who are 200, 300, and even 400 pounds overweight. first the Biggest Loser and now Heavy, on A&E. these are shows about people who are a minimum of 300 pounds, but usually over 400. and it’s understandable that they need a lot of help and it’s understandable that the public has a fascination with the shows, both in a morbidly curious way (don’t tell me people don’t think, "thank god it’s not me!" when watching) and also because the shows can truly be inspirational. the shows have helped a lot of people, which is great.

what I wonder about, though, is the people who need to lose under 100 pounds, but over 50. people like me. no one pays us any attention because we’re just not "fat enough" to hold anyone’s focus nor skinny/fit enough to make for sexy tv or headlines. maybe because a lot more people fall into this category than the other. maybe because it would be too uncomfortable to see someone and think, "ah hell, that’s me exactly." 

no one looking at me has ever guessed that I’m over 200lbs. not a single person. that’s because my weight is evenly distributed and my curves just look more "generous" than most. but I’m fat, people. I hate to say it, but there it is. I am morbidly obese just as much as the people on both those shows, I just carry it better. I think it’s harder, too, for people in my weight range, because the thin people look at us and think, "well show some will power! it’s not like you’ve got 200+lbs to lose! just do it!" while the heavier people look at us and think, "you’ve got it good, trust me." and yes, of course those are generalizations, but that’s how it seems to me. 

there’s no real point to this post. it’s just an observation of the world in which we live. 

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

