//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

my geek night at the library…

now, the BPL (Boston Public Library) is pretty damn impressive from what I remember. granted, it’s been over a decade since I visited, but it’s a massive building and I remember an awesome antiquities collection. 

the LAPL (LA Public Library) tho…omg…it’s like seven stories of nerd heaven. yes, seven stories. it not only goes up three, but digs down four levels. and what levels they are! not just that, but there’s signs on the actual stacks that only 50% of the collection is on the shelves so if you can’t find a book, ask a librarian. dood. it’s frickin awesome and insane!

I usually go there to get some writing done as it’s hard to do so in my table-less apartment. (sigh) but tonight I had a goal. it started a couple nights ago, actually, when I had the idea for a facebook game which I thought was pretty cool. so I thought to myself, "self, you’re pretty clever, why don’t you just do it yourself? can’t be that hard." 

heh. got to the library and checked out "building facebook apps for dummies" thinking that would be a good start. went and sat down, pulled out my laptop, and got some editing done. then I read the first few pages of the book and discovered, "oh btw, you’re gonna need to know php for this to make sense at least a little." 


*headdesk*

I tooled around fb for a while, caught up on email, and then realized that I was getting exactly nowhere with the writing and gave it up.

so I went back to the nerd computer science section (6 levels down from the lit section where I hang out *snerk* can we say basement?) and got a dummies book for php. I went to check out and returned the fb book and checked out the php book. (I also walked by a string theory book I couldn’t resist and checked that out too, just for fun.) 

stopped at subway, got some (unhealthy) dinner foodstuffs and headed home. was reading on the bus and discovered that apparently you have to know sommat of C+ for php to make sense… oh come on

*headdesk* 
 
so basically, I have to learn 3 programming languages before I even attempt to put together a game. and that’s not counting catching up on my css, xml, flash, and whatever else is needed. are any of you programmers? because yeah, I could learn it all, but then I might as well get certified and start making real money. heh.
 
think I’ll do something I already know how to do now…write for a half hour or so then go to bed. oy!
About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “my geek night at the library…

  1. You really don’t need C++ to understand PHP, just a small basis in Object Oriented Programming

    Posted by hascouf | April 29, 2011, 11:33 am
  2. You really don’t need C++ to understand PHP, just a small basis in Object Oriented Programming

    Posted by hascouf | April 29, 2011, 11:33 am
  3. You really don’t need C++ to understand PHP, just a small basis in Object Oriented Programming

    Posted by hascouf | April 29, 2011, 11:33 am
  4. You really don’t need C++ to understand PHP, just a small basis in Object Oriented Programming

    Posted by hascouf | April 29, 2011, 11:33 am
  5. library
    My hats off to you for even contemplating those books!!! The library sounds like I could spend a week there!!!

    Posted by Anonymous | April 29, 2011, 7:53 pm
  6. library

    My hats off to you for even contemplating those books!!! The library sounds like I could spend a week there!!!

    Posted by Anonymous | April 29, 2011, 7:53 pm
  7. library

    My hats off to you for even contemplating those books!!! The library sounds like I could spend a week there!!!

    Posted by Anonymous | April 29, 2011, 7:53 pm
  8. library

    My hats off to you for even contemplating those books!!! The library sounds like I could spend a week there!!!

    Posted by Anonymous | April 29, 2011, 7:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

