//
you're reading...
screenwriting, writing

my sudden social life…

So this has been an interesting past week.

Last Saturday I went to a lecture with established scifi screenwriters through the Scriptwritersnetwork.org. It was a really good panel and it was interesting to hear different takes on how people approach both writing and scifi in general.

Last Monday was my first writers group meeting with a cool group of peeps. The only “problem” is that they don’t do tv, just features. Not that I don’t have features to work on, I certainly do, so I definitely want to continue if they’ll have me.

Last night, Friday, was “Friday Night Drinks,” also through the Scriptwritersnetwork. On the one hand, it was nice to get out and get a drink, meet a few new peoples. On the other, it was really crowded, the bar was narrow and hard to maneuver in, and it was waaaay too loud. Even if I didn’t have a hearing problem (which my friend Cyn does not), it was nearly impossible to hear what anyone was saying. For me, it was even more difficult since my directional hearing sucks. Heh. Did get a chance to practice my lip reading though.

Today was another lecture series, this time with industry “readers” who are the studio exec’s first line of defense in weeding out crap scripts. I’ve been a reader so I know what these guys go through. I’ve read some pretty horrific scripts and I only did it for a year. These guys have done it for years and more power to them! Respect all around. It was really cool to hear what was going on behind the scenes, as it were, even though I had a good inkling.

On top of that, I met up with a few new peeps who seem very cool and helpful. Nice combo, yes? It looks like I’ll be starting a writers group geared specifically towards tv and getting a reading done of one of my scripts. Terrifying, but also awesome. Basically, they find the place and actors, we all get together, and the actors do a run through of my script. It’ll be awesome and horrifying (I’m sure) to see just where (/if) it all falls apart. lol! Not that I’m anticipating total mayhem, or anything, but as Nana always used to say, “Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.”

Next weekend is another lecture about “big ideas” and I’m full of it, er, them so I’ll be there. ;o)

Basically, membership in this very cool scriptwritersnetwork is going to get me out and about and meeting people a hell of a lot more than I’ve been doing. And that’s great, because I need me some writer peeps who actually live nearby. Plus I get to practice my social butterfly skills. :o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “my sudden social life…

  1. Sounds like it’ll be nice to meet new people and get out and such. Of course, with all this networking, when will you write? X-D

    Posted by Katy Sozaeva | October 17, 2011, 8:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

