//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

I posted briefer things to facebook and twitter, but am feeling wordy today. (which is good, because I have about 50k words to finish on nano by weds! yes, Lynn, I know, you’re kicking my butt! lol!)

There’s a lot going wrong in the macrocosm of the world (War. Famine. Poverty. Rape. Murder. Genocide) and the microcosm of my life isn’t exactly sunshine and roses these days either. It seems like in general, we all take three steps forward and then four steps back; certainly financially speaking and maybe even emotionally, too. Holding grudges. Spreading gossip. Being mean or rude just because. Complaining about the things we don’t, but feel we should have, like iPads or new cars or money to travel or just money in the bank.

None of the people I know personally are homeless. Only one of the people I know is now unemployed. We all have food in the fridge and roofs over our heads to keep us warm. We have people who care about us and, in lucky cases, love us deeply. Most of us are in pretty good health and mostly emotionally stable. I’ll state the obvious and say these are very good things. Things for which we should all be grateful.

We always say at the beginning of the year that this year, things are going to get better. Well, this year is almost over and honestly? My life’s not any better than last year, but I’m still grateful because it is my life…

I have my passion for writing to whittle away the hours not spent earning just enough money to keep my apartment and feed me.

I have friends to bitch to, laugh with, and offer a listening ear in return.

I have family in good health.

I have a country that isn’t perfect by any stretch, but gets things more right than wrong, at least for the time being.

I have laughter, which really is the best medicine.

I have music and dance, which lightens my soul.

I have possibility and hope, as well as the support from all my friends and family, and that is what keeps me going.

I hope you all have as much as I do and more on this wonderful Thanksgiving Day.

(PS – if you’re going to the “Black Friday” sales, remember that the people working would rather be with their families but instead they’ve got sore feet, exhaustion, noise, and angry hordes of customers shouting at them. Give them a smile and be nice. It’s a rough job to have on the worst possible day to have it.)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

One thought on “HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

  1. What a great post and so true! We really do have a lot to be thankful for. A lot of times it’s easy to forget that with the day to day craziness of life.

    Posted by Cindy Young-Turner | November 24, 2011, 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

