//
you're reading...
nanowrimo2011, writing

all over but the cryin’

the good news is I dragged two of my friends into nano this year and one of them completed it! she’s got the first draft of a kickass novel (I haven’t read it yet, but she’s awesome enough to make that assumption ;o)) all done! and the other friend got a good start on her first draft, which is nothing to sneeze at either!

as for me? well…I wish I could say that I finished, but I didn’t. I was in the grips of a terrible writer’s ennui most of the month and completely uninspired. I did, however, get a solid start on the thing and completed ~20k words. not too shabby, if not the ultimate goal.

lessons learned? you can’t force inspiration unless there’s an actual, finish-or-die deadline going on. at least I can’t. nano is very laid back for me, maybe too much so. heh.

also, stress in life doesn’t really translate to smoothness of writing.

and lastly, most importantly, I need to sit my ass down and write! I’ve gotten out of the habit, sad to say, and need to get back to writing something every day, no matter what.

looking forward to next year’s contests, both the 3-Day Novel and Nano. I’ll keep you all apprised of my progress in completing the novels I started in both contests this year.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “all over but the cryin’

  1. My niece was doing Nano this year – I’ll have to ask her how she did. You gotta do what you gotta do – take care of yourself and I hope things get better soon!

    Posted by Katy Sozaeva | December 2, 2011, 7:46 am
  2. 20K is not too shabby, IMO! I agree with the writing every day habit. I really need to work on that myself. December is a tough month, though. Way too much going on.

    Posted by Cindy Young-Turner | December 3, 2011, 2:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

