//
you're reading...
writing

to self publish or not…

that is the question. I’ve been thinking about this for about a year now and am closer to saying yes than I ever have been.

most of my problem is a lack of patience. I have (in my opinion) three really good novels just sitting on my hard drive collecting virtual dust as I query agent after agent trying to get a “professional” to look at them. if they fit Torquere’s bill, I would’ve submitted all of them long before now, but they don’t. I might be queer, but most of my novels don’t fit that genre.

and I know, everyone says that persistence is the key and that rejections are a part of life as a writer (I certainly have enough to qualify as a “real” writer at this point)… but they aren’t anymore, are they? not if you self-publish.

on the one hand, I really, really want to go the traditional route and get that writing contract with one of the Big 6. I want to have an agent and a shiny advance and some Big Shot in NYC asking, “when’s your next novel going to be done?” because we have a three-book deal and they want the next book nownownow.

on the other hand, self-publishing isn’t the bastard step-child anymore. there are a lot of really great books being self-published every day by great writers who eschew the traditional route. and the lucky some who do so only to catch the attention of the Big 6 and land a contract that way.

my current line of thinking is this… enter Fluctuations into the amazon breakthrough novel award contest and see if that gets any traction. if it doesn’t, save up money for some advertising and self-publish it just to see what happens. I haven’t decided for sure, but that’s the current game plan.

anyone who wants to read a good blog post about this should hit up: http://annerallen.blogspot.com/2011/12/why-one-author-chose-traditional.html

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “to self publish or not…

  1. re: Torquere Press – IMHO, we need more good books featuring lesbian characters, or bi-women characters *ahem* *snicker*; the book world is FULL of books with men, lots of erotica featuring men, etc. etc., but not nearly enough with lesbians, at least not books that aren’t silly. Although “Lois Lenz Lesbian Secretary” was much better than the title would have you thinking … LOL That’s one of the reasons I so enjoyed “Eternal Investigations” – she was just there; it wasn’t about making a point, it was just about a person. I don’t know if I’m making sense here … I better go now … X-D

    Posted by Katy Sozaeva | December 19, 2011, 6:33 pm
    • you made perfect sense and I absolutely agree! one of the reasons I’m saving up some advertising money to spread the word about EI. :o)

      thing is, Torquere’s geared towards romance and none of my finished novels are even close to that genre. not to mention Flux has no gay/bi characters, Dark Night has 1 bi man but he doesn’t become a main character until the end of the book 1 and then going into book 2. and while Temple has 1 bi and 1 gay man, they’re on-again/off-again lovers with way too much angst to be romantic. *snerk* so really, none of them are Torquere’s cuppa tea. unfortunately.

      hence my self-publishing ponderings.

      Posted by Nancy M. Griffis | December 23, 2011, 3:06 pm
      • Romance … *snort* *rolls eyes* Goddess I hate romance … It’s so … STUPID usually – the same, old recycled plot-lines, the same ridiculous “dynamic tension” that is basically just the two mains being idiots … I can count on one hand and have fingers left over how many decent romance novels I’ve managed to read … I’m with you!

        Posted by Katy Sozaeva | December 23, 2011, 7:47 pm
      • hehehehe. well romance has it’s place and can definitely be fun. I just don’t happen to write it as a “traditional” genre.

        Posted by Nancy M. Griffis | December 28, 2011, 3:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

