//
you're reading...
writing

Discrimination doesn’t belong in writing!

I’ll admit, I don’t consider myself a romance writer despite the fact there’s usually an element of romance in my novels, but I love romance. I’m a completely hopeless romantic and adore happy endings. Because I don’t look around for romance contests, this would have slipped completely under my radar had someone in my authors’ group not spoken up.

There’s a romance writers contest called “More Than Magic” that’s been around for ten years now, at least according to the “previous winners” on their website that I found. They take any and all genres of romance from erotica to paranormal to chaste to historical, whatever kind of genre, as long as it’s a romance novel, they’ll accept it for submission to the contest…until this year.

This year holds the following rule taken directly from their “Rules and Information” webpage:

RULES:

1. All entries must be book-length romance fiction.
Includes novellas of at least 15,000 words.

– Note: MTM will no longer accept same-sex entries in any category.

(link is: http://rwimagiccontests.wordpress.com/rwi-contests/2012-more-than-magic-rules-information/)

So in their very first rule, starting this year, gay romance is no longer welcome in this contest.

Of course, this begs the question, what about Bi romance? Or Transgender? How about African American romance? Does that count? Or what about mixed couples, is that okay? Does that fit their criteria of acceptable romance novels? It’s ridiculous that a contest that’s supposed to be about love discriminates against one form of it! No, not ridiculous, outrageous!

As others (http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/blog/romance-writers-ink-contest-an-exercise-in-discrimination & http://heidicullinan.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/rwa-shouldnt-be-in-the-business-of-discrimination/ and more I haven’t seen, I’m sure) have said, hit them where it hurts! If you’re a writer, don’t enter their contest. If you’re in a position to be a judge, tell them no. There’s no contest if people don’t enter.

If they don’t want me or mine playing in their sandbox, well, there’s going to be a reckoning.

You can also write them and tell them how wrong and unfair this policy is at: jackie.rwimagic@netscape.com, their contest coordinator. Don’t spew, be nice. As Shakespeare once said, “There is a way to kill with kindness,” and that’s exactly what we should do!

Please repost this! The more people who know, the better.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Discrimination doesn’t belong in writing!

  1. Actually, MTM probably means “More Than Magic” – the name of the contest. So it’s not discriminating against M/M romance – it’s discriminating against any same-gender romance, which is exactly what they state. And that’s TERRIBLE. While it is true that the romance market is being completely inundated with M/M romance novels and that can get a bit irritating for those of us who don’t care for that (it’s not that it’s M/M that bothers me, it’s just that it’s … male … LOL), that is NO REASON to deny that expression! I just don’t read it, for the most part. Anyway – that’s really outrageous and I hope some people give them some real what-for – like, I don’t know, ACLU?

    Posted by Katy Sozaeva | February 5, 2012, 8:16 am
    • lol! yeah, I fixed that MTM thing. *points above to updated version* I’d been out all day, whattaya want? ;o)

      and really? inundated? because I don’t see any at Barnes and Noble except on two tiny little shelves. what bookstores are you shopping at? hehehehe. and I know it’s better online, but still doesn’t seem like a big presence to me. *shrugs* then again, I tend to not look for romance novels at all unless I’m in a mood so I probably haven’t looked in the right places.

      Lamda might get involved but it is their contest so they can accept whatever submissions they want. or don’t want in this case. not sure there’s a legal case to stand on? smarter people than me will decide, that’s for sure. thanks for the support!

      Posted by Nancy M. Griffis | February 5, 2012, 4:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

