//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

3 movie reviews – no spoilers

Safe House – what can one say about a Denzel movie other than it’s inherently awesome? I’ve been seriously looking forward to this one since I saw the first preview about 6 months ago and it did not disappoint in any way. I would happily pay to see this at evening movie prices. Denzel plays gray characters so very well and Ryan did a great job as the ingenue on the CIA scene. The writing was great, the direction was great, and the chase and fight scenes were all around awesome. If you’re looking for an action/suspense movie, this is definitely one to see!

This Means War – another movie I’ve been waiting to see for about 6 months but in a completely different way. I love Chris Pine and think he does really well in pretty much any kind of role. I hadn’t seen him in a rom-com before and so was anticipating something new. I’m not at all familiar with Tom Hardy, but I just loved every preview I saw with the two of them vying for Reese’s affections as they played dirty to get her. It’s a very light-hearted movie, but it really a buddy film in disguise. Honestly, the romance aspect is practically secondary despite it supposedly being the prime directive objective. Reese did a pretty good job with this one, but I could think of 3 actresses off the top of my head who would’ve been better. If you’re looking to laugh and love a good buddy film, this should definitely be on your list. It’s a ton of fun!

Journey 2 The Mysterious Island – oh stop judging me already. lol! I’ve been a fan of Dwayne Johnson since he was The Rock, though not all the way back to his wrestling days (that’s more to do with me hating wrestling than not being a Rock fan at the time). I’ve seen every film he’s been in, good and awful, and wasn’t going to break my streak with this one. The movie itself was surprisingly fun with some witty banter here and there, but primarily surface-level and it clobbers you a bit over the head with a couple of different messages. It’s definitely geared towards kids, not that that’s a surprise, so if you’re not a Dwayne fan and don’t have kids between 10-13yo, it’s probably best to skip this one. If you do go see it though, do it at a matinee and don’t bother with the 3D because it’s not necessary, just more expensive. My only real “complaint” was seeing Luis Guzman as the dotty sidekick. I’m used to expecting a lot more of the roles he takes, but oh well. Can’t win them all.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

