//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

this year’s fellowships…

this year I plan to hit all the fellowships and workshops and diversity programs. I figure if I throw enough scripts at enough programs that, much like a plate of spaghetti thrown at the wall, something’s gonna stick. although I have to say that the WB Workshop has gone a little… overboard… with their requirements and a fee. don’t they know that new and unproduced writers have no money? I know I don’t.

and speaking of money, this year I’m thinking of applying for the Nicholl Fellowship. I haven’t done this in the past because for some reason, I thought they only took “serious” screenplays… aka, not genre scripts. only, I looked at last year’s finalists and found an action/horror in there which totally gives me hope. the problem, of course, is that I’m not working, the deadline’s 5/1, and the entry fee is $52. and why $52? why not $50 or $55? it’s such a random amount that I get the feeling they threw a dart at the wall and it landed on a bingo square of 52.

in any case, if I do manage to snag a job in the next few days, I’ll submit my scifi/horror script, Sunlight. for the tv fellowships/workshops, I’m planning to submit a Person of Interest spec. love that show!

pretty much all the fellowships/workshops have a deadline at the middle or end of may, so the next couple of weeks will be busy writing my spec and polishing up Sunlight. at least I’ve got something to occupy my days now instead of (still more) novel editing.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

