//
you're reading...
movies

Summer Movie reviews Part 1 (no spoilers)

First, much thanks goes out to my friend Cynthia who has supported my movie addiction during a very lean financial time. :o)

Avengers –  this movie literally has everything you could want in a movie. It’s fun, funny, witty, action to the nth degree, but also has serious character development. The character interaction is so much fun and gratifying as both a fan and a writer. This confirms for about the millionth time that I want to be Joss Whedon when I grow up. Also, stay to the Very end of the credits, there are two extra scenes

Battleship – I don’t care what anyone says. This is a great summer movie! I can’t say much for the plot development, but there’s plenty of action and explosions and lots of pretty. What else do you really need? It’s a fun escape for a couple of hours. nd there’s an extra scene after the credits, too, so stick around.

Men in Black – this is so hilarious! I absolutely loved everything about it, if not on the same deeply fangirly squee as Avengers. Then again, I don’t think there’s anything that could reach that level, except a Serenity sequel. The actors were just great and the story is both fun and satisfying. No extra scene at the end, which was the only disappointing thing about it.

Think Like A Man – I was inclined to like this even before seeing it because I like all the actors in it. (and actors here is gender neutral) Even considering that fact, I’m not really a rom-com person in general. I’ll only watch them if there’s no other option. This movie isn’t really a rom-com, though, and that’s what saves it. The story is both cute and deep in turns and has a deft touch, using humor instead of walloping the audience with a “and the moral of the story is…”  feeling come the end of it.

Dark Shadows – I thought long and hard about spending precious money on Dark Shadows, but just couldn’t justify it. As much as I love Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, it looks like they’ve absolutely destroyed the fandom with this incarnation and I honestly don’t know what Burton was thinking. Everyone’s allowed a stinker now and then, though, so this will be a dvd movie for me.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

