//
you're reading...
writing

writers write…

I was recently reminded about this when I was trolling through blogs reading what other writers are upto these days. It seems self-evident, doesn’t it? It is, really, but with “real life” and all that goes with it, sometimes that gets lost in the shuffle.

Stress, of course, was the big de-motivator. I forced myself to complete the spec script for the fellowship I can no longer enter, but other than that, I haven’t written a damn thing for about three months (not coincidentally, the time my money ran out and the stress of being unemployed sucked the life out of me, but still!). I looked at my folder of novels in progress and my god, there are 34 of them! When the hell did I become so haphazard? All of them have a minimum of three chapters and some are up to twelve chapters, which is practically a third of a book!

(And that’s not counting the screenplays that are in progress omg.)

So here’s the thing. For my summer vacation, I plan to write. And when I say summer vacation, I mean the lack of tv I need to be caught up on to stay current as a hopeful tv writer. TV is over for three months, aside from the off-season cable shows, so that gives me at least three hours a night to devote to writing. So as not to burn myself out, I’m going to set aside one hour each night just for writing. No chat, no facebook, no tv, nothing but the “blank page” of my computer staring back at me. Not to say that I won’t go longer than an hour, but that’s my minimum.

And to keep me accountable, I plan to give a progress report here every week. No more excuses. I’m diving into the world of e-publishing and need to have a “backlist” of available titles.

The list to start: 

1. Transitions – the sequel to my scifi/adventure story Fluctuations.

2. Children of the Temple – Book 2 “untitled” – an urban fantasy novel

3. Dark Night book 2 – Bloody Dawn – another urban fantasy novel

Are we sensing a theme here? lol! Yes, they are all sequels. And yes, that also means I have 3 novels ready and waiting to get published. This is good news. :o)

So this writer is getting back to basics… the joy of writing.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

  • RT @SaraJBenincasa: Jesuit attitude is my favorite attitude because they will throw shade with footnotes and MLA citations https://t.co/6sV… 2 days ago
  • RT @ChrisEvans: Wow. Are there any Republicans in Washington who will take a REAL stand? Are there ANY leaders left? History will remember. 2 days ago
  • RT @shondarhimes: He bragged at inexperience- turns out he's unqualified. He mocked/shamed/groped - turns out he's a bully. He embraced rac… 2 days ago
