//
you're reading...
writing

my writing weekend…

Even though I’ve (sadly) decided not to do the 3DN marathon this year, I’m still going dedicate this weekend to writing. With the long weekend, why not, right? I’m going to use the time to write the 6 short(ish) stories that I’ve got planned that will preview the world and characters from a novel that I’m working on. Once they’re all done, I’m going to publish them all on amazon and smashwords for .99, two per month so that it finishes by Christmas.

I’ll admit that story#1 is almost done, but that’s good because I’ve got a really nice sense of the characters now: how they talk, who’s sarcastic (almost everyone, this is me *grin*), who’s a jerk, who’s evil, etc. You can get most of that from character sketches, but it really comes through when you’re elbows-deep (so to speak) in the writing itself.

Of course, the really fun thing about writing short(ish) stories is that if I get stuck on one, I can jump to another! Not so helpful a tactic when you’re plowing through a novel.

So here’s the challenge… write 5 stories between 15k and 20k words each by Monday night. I’ll be starting tomorrow when I get back from chiro and grocery shopping as there’s nothing in the house to eat except brown rice and tofu. healthy, but not terribly exciting or inspiring. ;o)

Wish me luck!

 

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

One thought on “my writing weekend…

  1. Good luck! This weekend is the first home game for the UGA Bulldogs, which means the town is filling up with drunken and obnoxious people and won’t be clear until sometime Sunday morning. Yuck. Best time to just hide and not go anywhere…

    Posted by katyasozaeva | September 1, 2012, 4:43 am

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

