//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Bronson – movie review (no spoilers)

So, I’ve recently become obsessed with a fan of Tom Hardy (and not just because he’s perfect for a role in my scifi script! ;o)). He’s one of those actors I kind of always knew and enjoyed, but didn’t really pay too much attention to until Inception. And then This Means War. And then Warrior. And then Dark Knight Rises. Talk about a chameleon who knows how to act!

Anyhow. I was trolling around Netflix last week and came across a biopic with Tom in it called Bronson. It’s about UK’s most infamous prisoner and set mostly in the 70’s and 80’s. It is… bizarre. I can’t decide if the entire cast and crew were high as they decided how to present an already larger-than-life public figure or just brilliant. I’m leaning towards the latter.

The movie doesn’t have just the ‘normal’ scenes where we see Michael Peterson (who later took Charlie Bronson as his “fight” name) from childhood through adulthood. Oh no. They do these scenes where Bronson is dressed in a business suit and clown makeup on stage while addressing an audience as he comments on his own life and choices. It’s absolutely awesome how they break the 4th wall.

On the whole, the movie is violent and bloody and starkly gorgeous in a way that makes you gape at the screen in dazed silence while thinking, “What the f*ck?” This is NOT a movie for the faint of heart, nor those under 16. Not because of the horrific language and full-frontals (of which I remember 3 or 4), but because of just how wrong a person can go in the quest for a life of destiny and fame.

Tom Hardy was absolutely as brilliant, as I expected. It definitely deserved more awards than it got, but then, few biopics get any so I suppose that tells you something right there.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Bronson – movie review (no spoilers)

  1. I completely agree with you Nancy! Because of how often my coworker at DISH talks about Tom Hardy, I have recently become obsessed with him myself. She mentioned this movie to me the other day, so I decided to give it a try as well. I got it in the mail yesterday with my Blockbuster @Home package and decided to watch it earlier today. Wow was I impressed with Mr. Hardy! I liked him in The Dark Knight, This Means War and so on, but I definitely felt this movie captured his real potential as an actor. He seems like he could play anything thrown at him, and that makes me appreciate him even more. I think if it would have been anybody else portraying Bronson, I wouldn’t have thought twice about seeing this film, but all in all I’m glad I did. 🙂

    Posted by Emery | October 10, 2012, 1:53 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

