//
you're reading...
writing

NaNo!

So it’s that time of year again! National Novel Writing Month or, NaNoWriMo, or NaNo, in the cool kids club. hee!

I’ve decided to make this year a real challenge… I’m going to write a YA book. This means no sex, no bad language (or very little) and keeping the blood/gore to a minimum. Damnit! lol!

I have only a vague idea as to characters right now. The protagonist will be a boy between the ages of 12-14 (which fits me perfectly when you think about it, considering my sense of humor, taste in movies, and appreciation of the female form. hehehehe) who will have either a perfectly normal family and quirky friends, or quirky family and no/few friends, haven’t quite decided yet.

And yes, this goes completely against the grain of what’s popular, to not have a female protagonist. But hey, when have I ever written for what’s popular anyhow, right?

Anyone want to join me this year? We could make a team and have mini-writing competitions! 😀 Let me know!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “NaNo!

  1. Hmmm – 12 to 14-year-old boy sounds more MG than YA, actually. You would be surprised at the language, violence and even sex in YA fiction nowadays… O.O

    I think it’s a great idea – there are a lot of people who have mentioned there need to be more MG and YA fiction with male protagonists. Best of luck – let me know when you need me to edit it 🙂

    BTW, we still on to edit your werewolf book starting 11/19? If you need to delay, let me know 🙂

    Posted by Katy | October 14, 2012, 5:14 pm
    • LOL! I don’t even know what MG stands for. and I guess I’m not surprised, about the sex/violence in YA books now that you mention it. I see all those supernatural romance things for girls in B&N after all.

      11/19 works for me! 😀

      Posted by Nancy M. Griffis | October 14, 2012, 5:41 pm
      • Sorry – Middle Grade – defining books written for those 11 – 15, at a rough guesstimate. Maybe younger. *shrug* Anyway, from your description that sounds like it might be more appropriate based on what you want to do.

        Posted by Katy | October 14, 2012, 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

