//
you're reading...
writing

my (2nd) NANOWRIMO epic fail…

Yes, yes. Let the mocking commence…  *waves it on*

Last year nano coincided with major life changes and stresses for me and while I signed up, I didn’t have the werewithal to finish. This year, I signed up for nano, plotted out twenty chapters, and then… nothing. I didn’t write a single, actual word on the possible new novel. I wish I could claim that life sucked the (heh) life out of me or I didn’t have time or some kind of legitimate excuse, but nope. I had plenty of time and honestly, work was perfectly fine other than a few crazy days here and there. I have absolutely no excuse for not at least writing out the chapters that I plotted out, even if I didn’t finish the actual novel.

This brings up an interesting thought, though, on the actual process of writing. I’m a big believer in deadlines and outlines. I also write a lot better and faster with an audience. One would think that with all three of my usual triggers being met, I would’ve been knee deep in writing the very first day.

The problem in this particular case is that my challenge didn’t inspire me like I thought it would. I like what I worked out in the outline, I really did, and yet… the emotional connection to the novel just wasn’t (and honestly still isn’t) there. I need to have that connection to a subject/idea/plot/characters in order for the spark to ignite into the journey that is writing a novel. And writing a novel is a journey, no doubt. Without the connection, there’s no drive (at least for me) to tell the story that will bring readers into a new world.

Now, I could have switched to a different novel idea. I did, after all, have an entire month to work something out, novel-wise. And honestly, I have a sequel (3 actually) that I need to get my ass in gear and finish, but the stars just didn’t align for novel writing this past month. Every time I sat down to work on it, the words would not come. I’ll quote my S-i-L here that Mercury was in retrograde for half the month, so maybe the stars were literally not aligned for me. ;o)

Of course, this isn’t a post with all bad news. I didn’t work on my official nano entry so yes, that was a true, epic fail, but I did write about 30k words on other things during the month of November. People will (hopefully) be happy to know that the next two Arbiter shorts are mostly done and I toyed with a third project during that time, too.

I want to give major props to those who participated and finished nano, especially my friend Lynn (whom I expect to mock me endlessly on my epic failness) who took the time to crank out a really cool idea into a really cool novel that I can’t wait to read in its entirety when she’s done.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

One thought on “my (2nd) NANOWRIMO epic fail…

  1. Hey, you still wrote quite a bit so I wouldn’t call it a fail at all!

    Posted by Cindy Young-Turner | December 1, 2012, 12:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

