//
you're reading...
movies, Uncategorized

The Grey – review – Spoilers!

Okay, so, I was home all weekend last weekend and finally broke down and watched The Grey, with Liam Neeson. I had wanted to see it in the movies, but was extra poor at the time and now? I’m glad I didn’t spend my hard-earned money on it.

Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers! Here be spoilers!

That should be enough room!

Oh my God this movie was awful. So far below Liam’s caliber of acting that I literally baked cookies during it, which made me get up and down so I didn’t have to watch it in one go.

On the face of it, this movie is about survival of the fittest. You’ve got a bunch of oil workers who go down in a plane crash, Liam included. Liam’s job was to shoot wolves who attacked the workers out in the snow fields of Alaska, so he’s super qualified to lead them back to safety, supposedly.

Now, in these types of movies, I expect death. Honestly, I like to try and make bets on who survives and tend to giggle at the more horrific ways people get killed off. (Twisted? Me? naaaah!) The problem is that, someone needs to survive. Anyone. Just one. Or if they don’t all survive, then there should be some kind of logic to it. I mean, one of them literally just sits down and says, “I’m done. Just gonna stay here and die.” … really? You survived a plane crash and traveling all that distance just to sit down beside a pretty river and give it up? In this film, no one lives in the end… actually, that’s possibly not true because just when Liam is the lone survivor facing down the alpha wolf, the movie ends so we don’t know if he lives or not.

It’s not that I automatically hate ambiguous endings, because I don’t. And movies where everyone dies don’t generally upset me, either. It’s just, in this particular movie, it felt like they were trying too hard to be different and ooooh no one lives, or maybe super Liam does, but you’ll never know bwahahaha! *rolls eyes*

On top of the idiotic ending, there’s Liam’s character. He was very deus ex in that he could literally do anything. Oh, but he’s depressed and tries to kill himself at the start of the movie and yet out in the wild after the crash suddenly, “I want to live!” Not that a plane crash wouldn’t change your worldview or anything, but yeesh. So many contradictions with this character, I thought I was going to get whiplash. That’s not depth, that’s just being confused.

Anyhoo. This is definitely a must-miss, imo, and that makes me sad. I always want to like Liam’s movies and generally, I love them. Oh well. I guess everyone’s entitled to a bad project now and then.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

