//
you're reading...
life

New Year’s Resolutions for 2013

I actually don’t have a lot of resolutions this year. In deciding to simplify my life, that’s included the resolutions. And it’s just as well since the more resolutions you make, the more likely it is that they won’t get kept, right?

1. Pay more attention to friends and family – this one seems like a no-brainer, but you just don’t know how many birthday cards and gifts that I’ve missed over the years. Lots. As all my long-time friends and family know, I’m horrible at remembering to send out cards at all, never mind on time or before the date. Sometimes I even forget to call people, which is truly a dumbass, unkind move on my part. (And if you’re in my f-flist, expect an email from me shortly verifying/asking for your bday)

2. Be mindful of myself – this is a kind of all-inclusive move on my part. That means staying on top of my health, finances, and writing. I’ve recently become vegan, so the health thing is actually the most on my mind as I’m still getting used to it, but that doesn’t mean I can let everything else slide. Self-acceptance is also one of the biggies here as I’m usually my own worst critic.

3. Find joy – also sounds like a no-brainer and yet, how often do we really take time to find the joy in life? Not often enough. I love writing, but sometimes it really does feel like too much work to bother with and that’s just wrong. It is my passion, after all. And I didn’t make it to the beach once last year which in SoCal is pretty much a crime, especially for someone who loves the ocean as much as I do. So yeah. Time to get happy again. Irritated and sarcastic might be an LA default, but then, I’m from New England so who cares? ;o)

And that’s it. I think those cover the most important things, don’t you?

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions for 2013

  1. Wishing you success in your aspiration. Sometimes just a few breaths in mindfulness brings clarity of life’s beauty.

    Posted by smilecalm | January 5, 2013, 4:37 am
  2. I don’t really do resolutions, but I did write a post about something I thought was important that sort of ties in with resolutions: http://katysozaeva.blogspot.com/2013/01/tell-me-something-tuesday.html

    I’m looking forward to another great year of working with you!

    Posted by katyasozaeva | January 5, 2013, 5:12 am

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

