//
you're reading...
tv

Wallander – tv review – minor spoilers

You know, I haven’t reviewed tv shows really and that’s kinda weird, now that I think about it since I’m trying to get into tv writing. I’ve decided to change that on a semi-regular basis.

The first victim show is Wallander since I doubt many of you have heard of it, let alone seen it. This show was originally done in Sweden and is based off a Swedish mystery series that revolves around the title character, Kurt Wallander. The version that I saw was done by the BBC and Kenneth Branagh not only headlines, but he’s an EP, too (one of many for the series). There are three seasons so far with a fourth planned and/or being filmed. Supposedly, that will be the last one but I’m thinking they’ll probably go for a fifth, depending on what Branagh has going on.

On the whole, I like this show. It’s not what one would call action packed, though there are some tense moments and a few car chases.

It’s the characters that make this world go ’round, imo, and of course, Wallander himself drives the action. Although for a lead in a detective series, I will say that it’s a bit odd how often the action drives him. Wallander is definitely in touch with his feelings, which makes for a nice change, but (and this is probably my rampant American pov speaking) the crying happens an awful lot. He’s a sensitive man, no doubt about it. The acting all around is really great, from the leads to the recurring to the victim/bad guy of the episode. I have to give a special shout out to David Warner, who plays Kurt’s dad. He does an outstanding job with a tough role. And for those who don’t know, Tom Hiddleston is a regular in the first two seasons; it took me 2 actual episodes to figure out who he was, which still cracks me up.

One thing that bothered me about this show was the actual camera work. They use a blurred lens (don’t you love the technical terms around here? ;o)) for the first two seasons on the shots where Kurt’s being all introspective (and some just for the scenery) that gave me a literal headache. I was glad to eventually see that go away. Either the character’s introspective or not; the camera shouldn’t be the obvious means to show that, imo.

As for the stories themselves… they were pretty original and I definitely enjoyed them. The whole “two unrelated things becoming related later on” gets a little old, but doesn’t really detract from the show. I probably noticed it more because I’m a writer than because it’s truly a blatant vehicle.

You can see all three seasons on netflix and/or dvd right now. I do recommend this if you’re looking for a nice, smooth show with good characters and interesting stories. Enjoy!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

