//
you're reading...
movies

My Top 5 Romance Films ever! – no spoilers

I can’t believe Valentine’s Day is next week! Good Goddess Aphrodite, the time’s flown! Even though I’m perpetually single (or maybe because of it…), I’m still a hopeless romantic. I don’t usually go for rom-coms and dramas that tug the heartstrings, but there have been a few over the years that make me go, “d’awww!” but here they are… my fave sappy/happy/romantic movies:

1. The Princess Bride – this will be a surprise to probably no one in the known universe. I not only have most of the dialogue memorized, I could likely recite it without the movie playing along. hehehehe. This movie has everything from True Love to storming castles to ROUS’s (Rodents Of Unusual Size) and, for a bonus, Peter Falk and an adorable 12yo (ish) Fred Savage. I’ve also read the book, you know, once or twice… maybe, three five times. If you like your romance to come with wit, sword fights, a blood vendetta, and True Love, then this is the ultimate film for you!

2. Arsenic & Old Lace – I first saw this on Halloween with a group of friends in high school and it’s been a favorite ever since. One of the classics, Arsenic & Old Lace stars Cary Grant as the hapless romantic lead just trying to go on his honeymoon amidst the antics of his crazy aunts who have… well, that would be spoiling! If you haven’t seen this, you absolutely need to; it is a classic for a reason, after all!

3. The Last of the Mohicans – moving away from humor, this is one of the first movies that made me cry buckets. With Daniel Day-Lewis and Madeline Stowe as the leads, you can guess this isn’t what anyone would call a light romance. There are actually two love stories that blossom in this film, Madeline and her sister both fall in love during the French and Indian War as they try to escape the fighting and get to safety. Bring your hankies, and be prepared to shout at the tv as you watch this one.

4. French Kiss – speaking of, “d’awwww!” lol! This one is a definite rom-com with a high-strung, somewhat neurotic Meg Ryan facing her fear of flying to dash off to France and get back her fiance, Timothy Hutton. Along the way she is both accosted and assisted by Kevin Kline, the (almost) stereotypical Frenchman. It’s a journey of both love and self-discovery on the part of all the characters, which is what makes this movie extra squishy awesome. (Best line ever in a rom-com: “You people make my ass twitch.”)

5. Brokeback Mountain – Another one that made me cry buckets. Even knowing what’s going to happen, I would watch it again. It’s painful and hopeful and sweet and violent… it’s pretty much every emotion possible with a side of intensity and real love that just makes me, well, cry. Bring tissues, but watch it.

Bonus movie:

Warm Bodies- yes, I know, this one just came out but OMG it’s soooo adorkable that it barely qualifies as a zombie movie. I was going to do a separate review on it, but I’ll just do it here because it’s definitely going to be a long-term favorite rom-com of mine. If you don’t know the premise, a zombie plague overran the world and the lead, R, spends his zombie days wandering an airport and almost talking with his zombie best friend, Marcus (who is awesome in his own right). Enter the girl, Julie, who gets trapped with her boyfriend and team on a reconnaissance mission to find drugs for the last remaining human city. It’s not just love at first sight for R, it the literal restarting of his heart. I won’t spoil you since it just came out, but this one is sweet and d’awwww-worthy all around. I’m hoping to see it again before it leaves the theater, though you don’t strictly need the big-screen to watch it on; as a rom-com, it’ll work just fine in your dvd player.

As a side note, I have to say that the lead, Nicholas Hoult, was just wonderful. I honestly can’t picture anyone else in the role and that’s the sign of some damn fine acting! I didn’t even recognize him as Hank/Beast from X-Men: First Class and can’t wait to see what else he gets up to in the future! Jack the Giant Killer is first on the list, which comes out next month.

 

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “My Top 5 Romance Films ever! – no spoilers

  1. Thanks for the list. i just added the ones I haven’s neen to my Netflix list.

    Posted by alkaplan | February 8, 2013, 12:47 pm
  2. ya got some good choices, “Brokeback mountain”? I would put that up there with “boys dont` cry”, it`s hard to see beyond the hate and violence that u know is gonna happen. The sensuality between the characters was pretty good though…

    Posted by jennifer bourg | February 9, 2013, 2:18 am
    • I actually haven’t seen Boys Don’t Cry, though I know I should. And besides, that doesn’t seem like a romance to me, unlike Brokeback; more like a self-discovery thing? Of course, I haven’t seen it, so I don’t know. One of these days! :o)

      Posted by Nancy M. Griffis | February 9, 2013, 8:36 pm
  3. What, no Room With a View??

    Posted by Cindy Young-Turner | February 9, 2013, 2:52 am

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

