//
you're reading...
car reviews

Wheels on Wednesday – Nissan Sentra

2012 Nissan SentraSo, I know that these are supposed to come out on Thursdays, but the last couple of weeks have seen very little time for blog writing. That said, on to the review! 🙂

I love this little car!

I’d always heard good things about Nissans, but since all of my previous cars were Oldsmobiles and Fords, couldn’t speak to it one way or the other. They were never much to look at in commercials or on the street, imo. But then, there are a lot of them on the street, so something had to be behind the hype. Honestly, I figured that if I ever bought a foreign car (which still isn’t likely), it would be a Toyota; at least until that disastrous recall happened a couple of years ago.

I’ve driven this Sentra three or four times now and it’s a really great car. I get a little pouty when it’s been booked and I have to get something else. It’s small and responsive, very quick to get around in city driving and we all know how essential that is in LA traffic. Not to mention parking, where the spots seem to keep getting smaller and smaller.

On the freeway, the power is outstanding. Talk about responsive! I put my foot down even a little and this baby just jumps to it! No problems beating the other cars already on the freeway merging whatsoever. You don’t even notice how fast you’re going until you actually look down at the speedometer. (Not that I go above the speed limit, because that’s both wrong and illegal. /disclaimer)

Random note: the seatbelt doesn’t choke me! You tall people just don’t understand how aggravating it is to always be pushing the damn seatbelt down. God forbid (*knock on wood*) I get into another serious accident and the seatbelt chokes me like last time or worse. It ain’t fun, people.

It’s also got a pretty decent standard sound system. Or, I’m assuming zipcar didn’t shell out for any kind of executive sound package anyhow. I can plug in my iPhone and listen to pandora or my itunes without any problem. Which is great, because of the insanely long drive to Ventura. It has a good base and easy touchscreen control for changing the levels.

And I should definitely mention the brakes. I had one trip where this random %*^$(%# moron hit the brakes for no god damn reason while we were all going at speed in the traveling lane. I swear to god I thought we were going to end up in a 5 car pile up or more. I was also positive that the car behind me was going to crush me like a tin can. But the Nissan’s brakes worked perfectly (as, apparently, did the other cars’); there was zero skidding and no accidents that day.

So it’s fast, easy to drive, and powerful… what are the downsides, you ask?

Well, the visuals aren’t the best I’ve dealt with. Maybe it’s just because I’m used to big cars (Oldsmobile didn’t make ’em small, after all, and my one Ford was a 96, so), but I expect the rear window to, I don’t know, be bigger than a breadbox. And who thinks having headrests in the back seats is a good freakin’ idea? All it does is cut even further into the view. It’s not like I care if the people in the back seat are comfy. ;o) Even the mirrors could be about an inch or so bigger, especially when it comes to SoCal freeways. Being able to see that 18-wheeler as it flies up your blindspot would be really awesome. And that’s not even sarcasm… much.

The only other complaint I have is the damn cruise control. OMFG what a nightmare. Even after having driven the car three or four times I can still barely get it to work! It’s not even worth the hassel with its manual buttons and up/down tabby whatever thing. Granted, I haven’t read the owner’s manual or anything, but it’s about as anti-intuitive as something in a car can be and that’s saying something, considering how old my American cars were. hehehehe.

Overall, I give the Sentra 3.5 out of 4 tires. (teehee! yes, that’s going to be my rating system)

Next week: my first hatchback experience… and it ain’t pretty.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Wheels on Wednesday – Nissan Sentra

  1. We’re a Nissan sentra family! I love them. They’re very dependable. Never had cruise control. Mine were all stick shift. Had to switch to the Subaru Forester because we needed more hauling space, though. I like that one almost as much.

    Posted by Cindy Young-Turner | May 12, 2013, 2:07 am

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

