//
you're reading...
movies, reviews

Reviews! The Conjuring, Pacific Rim, and The Wolverine (no spoilers)

I’ve had a very disappointing summer so far when it comes to movies and am pleased to report that FINALLY there are some decent movies to see!

The-Conjuring-posterThe Conjuring

This is a traditional, haunted house movie based on real events. I don’t know how much artistic license was taken vs. what actually happened, but I’m willing to give them the benefit of the doubt since I’m a pretty staunch believer in the paranormal. (oh stop looking at me like that, I’m just as crazy sane as I was before you knew that! ;o))

A young family moves into their dream house in the wilds of Rhode Island (hey, this was the 70’s, everything back then was in the middle of nowhere) and Bad Things start happening. It gets to the tipping point where real violence occurs and they call in the experts at the time, Ed and Lorraine Warren who are actual, real-life ghost hunters, and things go from there.

The thing I like about this movie is its overall creepiness. This is no blood-n-guts, in-your-face horror flick (not that I don’t love those, too) but more of a descent into darkness on old, creaky stairs into an unknown basement kind of flick. Heh. Literally, as it turns out. There are a few moments that make you jump, a few moments that make you grin, and a very satisfying ending. If you’re hoping for a movie to make you look over your shoulder late at night… yeah. This one’ll do it.

pacific-rim-poster-bannerPacific Rim

It’s Voltron vs. Godzilla! w00t!

Okay, now that I’ve dated myself, I’m going to say this movie was freakin’ awesome! Giant robots fighting giant monsters/aliens, what’s not to love? This has all of the fun campiness of the old Godzilla movies with way, way better special effects! The size of these things really needs to be seen on the big screen. Plus, you’ve got the hero/redemption storyline, and the coming of age storyline, and a couple of crazy-awesome scientists for comic relief.

I say again, what’s not to love?

The-Wolverine-International-Movie-Poster-2The Wolverine

Let me preface this review by the geek knowledge that I’ve loved the X-Men since reading the comics back in the day, then watching the cartoon (wow, dating myself all over on this post lol!), and seeing most of the X-Men movies. This movie actually starts a couple of years after the last X-Men movie and Logan’s still emotionally traumatized by what happened with Jean. You don’t, technically, need to have seen anything else for this movie to make sense because they do eventually explain what happened in this movie.

For those who don’t know, Wolverine is immortal and has a healing ability that has let him live for around 150-200 years at this point, I can’t remember exactly. In this movie, he saves the life of a Japanese officer back in Nagasaki when the bomb goes off and now, 60 years later, the man claims he can end Wolverine’s immortality and give him a peaceful, normal life. For someone with nightmares every single night, obviously that an attractive offer.

Without going into spoilers, I’ll just say that this movie has all the action I’ve come to expect from an X-Men film and quite a bit more heart. I would say XMFC is the one that comes closest to the same level of heart as this one. They both center around finding yourself, or finding peace with yourself, as opposed to the ensemble mutant vs. humans onus of the earlier films. I loved the fight sequences, the acting all around (aside from the standard evil chic *rolls eyes*) and that the FX were almost muted in this one; it really was all about Logan and his will.

(And speaking of bad girls, can we just once get a bad girl who doesn’t feel the need to wear completely sexualized clothing? I mean really. What was that green, slinky, tank top/leather pants ensemble about, anyhow? Whatever happened to a nice turtleneck under a warm, bulky sweater in the middle of winter? Is it really that hot in the secret bunker? Maybe you should turn down the thermostat if it is. /soapbox)

 

Great flick! And stay until partway through the credits for an extra bit of awesome. *SQUEE*

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Reviews! The Conjuring, Pacific Rim, and The Wolverine (no spoilers)

  1. The trailers for all these movies left me unenthusiastic, but I love scary movies, Guillermo Del Toro and yummy Hugh Jackman, so I was planning on seeing them anyway. I’m happy to read your good reviews!

    Posted by mollywog2012 | July 28, 2013, 9:45 pm
  2. I really want to see the Wolverine movie. He’s my favorite X-men. Now all I need is to find someone willing to go with me.

    Posted by alkaplan | August 1, 2013, 2:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

