//
you're reading...
reviews

2 Guns and Elysium – reviews – no spoilers

2guns2 Guns

So, I knew going in that I would like this movie just based on the cast. How can you go wrong with Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg in a comedy/action flick? And then I got the wonderful surprise of Edward James Olmos being the bad guy and Paula Patton as Denzel’s love interest! And last but certainly not least, Bill Paxton as another bad guy… sort of.  hehehehe.

The previews made me think this was a new version of Lethal Weapon and, in a superficial way, it was: white guy/black guy partnership in law enforcement with comedy undertones. But that’s about all the movies have in common. 2 Guns is edgier than Lethal Weapon (although that could just be because more is permissible today than back then) and there’s no PTSD to be dealt with here like with Riggs’ character.

Speaking of characters, I love how Mark Wahlberg can somehow still pull off the ingenue role and he’s how old? Seriously. He’s like an overgrown puppy one minute, all big eyes and eager, and then laying down cover fire from a sniper rifle the next.

Mark and Denzel have great chemistry in this one and EJO gives the villain role an honest “I’ll slit your throat if you betray me” mentality that’s refreshing from the crazy that bad guys generally have today. Oh! And Bill Paxton! … okay, I can’t actually tell you about his character without spoiling things. Let’s just say he rules and leave it at that.

So, a thoroughly enjoyable action movie with plenty of funny bits and a few twists that made me go, “ooooh! wish I’d thought of that!”

elysium-firstposter-full2Elysium

This was a really well-made film and should definitely be seen on the big screen to get the full effect. There was a lot of detail and thought into everything from sfx to acting to directing. The sets were so grand and the actors definitely gave it their all.

The problems I have with this are on a purely personal level.

1) I’m really sick of scifi movies that show a dystopian future. Just for once, I’d love to see a future where we’re reaching out to the stars with a unified home on earth that isn’t Star Trek. The very nature of the film made it hard for me to connect with the people in it.

2) Jodie Foster’s character… yeah, I just don’t see the character doing what she did in the end. It just didn’t fit with how she’d built up everything throughout the film. (I’ll get into that in my “characters who jumped the shark” post later)

3) Damon’s character arc was… well, let’s just say I predicted it about 15m into the movie. And you don’t have to be a writer to figure it out.

4) omg STOP with the flashbacks already!!

And that’s really all I can say without giving things away. Like I said, it’s a really well done film, just don’t go into it expecting rainbows and unicorns because you won’t get them.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

  • #whyarethecamerasoff 1 day ago
  • if this madness disguised as healthcare passes, I want "preventable - lack of insurance" as a new option on death certificates. 4 days ago
  • RT @Spacekatgal: It's not enough to be angry. This only ends when we have the political power to stop them. You need to donate money, time… 5 days ago
