//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Apollo 18 – review – no spoilers

I remember seeing the previews for this movie just before it came out (2011) and wanted to see it and then… nothing. I didn’t see any reviews, I didn’t hear about it in box office news; I just completely missed the entire release somehow. I guess everyone else did, too, because I looked up the earnings and it didn’t do well. That’s not a huge surprise because the movie is a genre combo of horror, scifi, and found-footage and, well, very little marketing.

I definitely liked this movie. I’m not a huge found-footage movie fan (outside of Paranomal Activity *snicker*), but the premise of the movie is so cool that I was willing to give it a shot. And the premise is startlingly simple: why have we never gone back to the moon? The movie centers around three astronauts who get called up in a secret mission to place spying devices on the moon. Supposedly it’s spying on the Russians since that was deep in the Cold War era.

What I really liked about this movie: the building tension. The actors were all top notch and Warren Christie and Lloyd Owen really sold me on their rising desperation to figure out what the hell was going on. Add to that a complete lack of soundtrack and yeah, it gets pretty creepy in places. I actually jumped pretty hard once. It’s not a true horror flick, but it doesn’t need to be since the suspense of more than enough to keep you watching.

What I didn’t like about this movie: the ending. And I can’t tell you why without giving everything away. Not that my disappointment in the ending should deter you from seeing this film, because it shouldn’t. It’s a nit-picky writer-plot thing anyhow. hehehehe.

Overall, if you’re looking for a cool scifi flick to pass the evening and like being startled, this is one to watch.

And lastly, now I’m kinda creeped out about why we haven’t had manned missions back to the moon, which means the movie definitely did its job. ;o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

