//
you're reading...
writing

My March Writing Experiment

It’s not like I don’t have enough on my plate with a full-time job and 1.5hr commute each way (on a good day) plus Candy Crush sucking down more hours of my life than is really recommended. Then there’s that pesky sleep thing that gets in the way of so much and yet I’ve been informed I need (a lot) more of it.

Despite all of these major time-suckers, I’ve decided to try that “write every day” thing that so many writers seem to employ. Right now, my writing goes in spurts of “oh my god, I wrote 10k words today!” and “oh my god I haven’t written a single word this week!” And while this does eventually accomplish things like novels and scripts of varying lengths, it’s not what anyone can call disciplined. And that’s weird, because I really did used to write every single day as a compulsion. I’m going to go with the explanation (no excuse) of ‘life fatigue’ more than anything else because let’s face it, the older we get, the less time we have for things outside of modern survival.

So here’s the plan: I will write something every single day in the month of March. It could be a paragraph on how sucky my day was, a movie review, a novel chapter, a scene from a script, whatever. Hell, I might even write a couple of poems; it’s been years since I’ve done that. I’m not going to stress out about what I write as long as something gets put down on the screen or page. This isn’t “Nancy writes a script in 30 days,” or “Nancy’s doing her own NaNo.” This is “Nancy has some fun writing on a regular basis.”

Really, that’s what it should always be about. Fun. Passion. Creative expression. All of which I’ve been lacking in recent months, unfortunately. I need to remind myself all of that exists. The voices in my head are there for a reason, after all. ;0)

Why not start this now? Because I just realized I have a ton of reading to do for someone by the end of the week and that’s going to consume my life. On the plus side, giving myself permission to write absolutely nothing will be nice, too. Sometimes I think writers get caught up in, “oh my god I have to write something!” or we think we’re useless as a writer. And that’s just as bad as not writing at all because it’s self-defeating.

So. In the month of March you’re going to see a bi-weekly report of what I write. And editing, by the way, counts as writing. hehehehe. I was thinking of doing it every day but a) that would almost count as my writing, and b) I don’t want to spam all you nice people with “me, me, me.” Honestly, I wince at twice weekly posts because it feels like spamming to me, but at least I’ve given you a heads-up.

Anyone want to join me in the challenge? Feel free to comment below and let me know. :o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “My March Writing Experiment

  1. All right, I’ll join you. I need to put some fun back into my writing also! And the public accountability will be good for me.

    Posted by Cindy Young-Turner | February 22, 2014, 3:56 am
  2. I’m game. We’ll see how it goes.

    Posted by alkaplan | February 22, 2014, 5:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

