//
you're reading...
writing

My March daily writing experiment

I bet you thought that because I didn’t post triumphantly right away, that I totally screwed the pooch on this little experiment. Surprise! I completed the experiment. I can’t say that I actually managed to write every day, but I did manage to write about 20 out of the 31. I would say that’s pretty darn good!

So did this make writing into a habit? Yes and no. Writing is already pretty much an addiction for me, it just hasn’t been a very productive one of late. This definitely helped get my butt moving on a few different projects and has unfortunately prompted a few new ones. (You know. To work on in my spare time. heh.)

Lessons Learned:

1. Writing a little every day actually is better than marathon sessions; for your sanity and carpel tunnel, if nothing else.

2. Skipping a day here or there (or a week due to injury) isn’t the end of the world. Life happens. Chill.

2b. Relaxing the pressure actually makes the words flow faster. When it doesn’t matter what you write on, you’ll find you can write about anything with greater ease.

3. Plotting and outlining count as writing. This may seem obvious to non-writers most people, but I think writers forget that coming up with the actual story and mapping it – and the characters – out, is just as important. The actual outline won’t end up being published (unless you’re, you know, JK Rowling), but without the plot, there wouldn’t be a finished piece of work. Also, three hundred words of an outline can be just as damn hard/annoying as three hundred words in the actual story.

I think everyone should do a daily writing experiment to find their own lessons learned. It’s well worth it. And if writing isn’t a habit/addiction for you already, perhaps this is the match to spark your passion. :o)

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “My March daily writing experiment

  1. Good job! You did much better than I did. Unless plotting in your head counts? Because I do an awful lot of that. I think I work better with a weekly goal. We’ll see how this month goes.

    Posted by Cindy Young-Turner | April 12, 2014, 4:18 pm
  2. I did well until March 20. That’s when things here got interesting in an unpleasant way.

    Posted by alkaplan | April 17, 2014, 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

