//
you're reading...
reviews, writing

Thief of Hope by Cindy Young-Turner – book review

ThiefOfHope

Thief of Hope

Cindy Young-Turner

Crescent Moon Press

This review is longgg overdue. I could’ve sworn that I reviewed it when it first came out, but I recently reread it which made me double check myself. I’m glad I did, because I totally slacked in posting a review on this one.

My only disclaimer for this review is that I’ve known the author since we were both verrry young (blackmail material available upon payment ;o)) and I got a free copy with a lovely inscription. I haven’t been compensated (or rightfully harassed) in any way for writing this review.

I actually read a few drafts of this novel when it was in progress, so (re)reading the final version gave me an odd feeling. I remember the previous versions and automatically compared it to the final one as I read. It’s like having a split-screen in your head which can be… distracting, I’ll grant you. Now I know what my poor, long-suffering editor goes through hehehehe. Fortunately, the final version of the novel is compelling and overwrote the previous ones. (I still miss the Unimportant bit. Cindy, you know what I’m talking about. ;o))

On the face of it, Thief of Hope is a fantasy novel with a hint of romance. You’ve got Sydney, the thief, living in a hellhole on the edge of nowhere and sentenced to death by the dictatorship of the Guild. Enter a wizard with his own agenda and a quest to save the kingdom, and your fantasy novel is off with a decided bang.

Sydney’s not your typical heroine being raw and ignorant of the world around her – growing up in a place called Last Hope will do that to ya – but she is a genuine one with heart, strength she doesn’t know she has, and a determination to do what’s right in the end. To me, this novel is almost a coming-of-age story despite the fact that Sydney is in no way a child. (And on that note, I would rate this novel for 15-years-old and up for the sex and violence) She’s finally finding out what she’s made of and isn’t that what we all do when we grow up?

I won’t go into specifics because I don’t want to spoil anyone, but the characters are vibrant and make me want to pick up the phone and poke Cindy (again) to work faster on the sequel. How can you not want to know what happens to our (mostly) intrepid band of heroes? (If you’ve read it, you know I’m (mostly) talking about Erik. *snerk*)

If you’re looking for a story with rich characterizations and a fast-paced, well-written story, then Thief of Hope is what you want to buy. And then you can poke her for the sequel too. Her blog link is embedded right at the top of this review.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Thief of Hope by Cindy Young-Turner – book review

  1. Thanks! And thanks for not saying *how* long it took to finish it. It’s been so long I’d almost forgotten about Unimportant. 🙂

    Posted by Cindy Young-Turner | April 12, 2014, 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

