//
you're reading...
movies, reviews

Oculus – Review – no spoilers

Oculus movie poster

Oculus movie poster

I love horror movies. I especially love well done horror movies and my oh my, Oculus is definitely that. I actually went into this movie knowing nothing about it except from what I saw on the bus advertising around town, but that was enough to intrigue me (As you can probably see from the poster here)

So here’s the news: Oculus is awesome. I don’t normally go for movies that jump back and forth in time, but Oculus does it in such a way that not only is it seamless, but it adds to the telling of the story in ways that I can’t tell you without spoiling it all. I think  in a few months I’ll have an in-depth discussion about timelines in movies and how they do/don’t work for the audience. (which will, of course, also include Inception and Looper) There aren’t a lot of movies that make me go: D’oh! Wish I’d thought of that!” but Oculus is now on the list.  The writing that went into this makes me want to read the screenplay like whoa. And what’s cool is that one of the writers also directed it, which means that what’s on the page is probably pretty damn close to what’s on the screen.

When I saw Katee Sackhoff, I’m not ashamed to admit that I gave a pretty big fangirl squeal right there and then. And then another one for Karen Gillan. I was suddenly very invested in this movie not sucking. (Given the state of the last Paranormal Activity movie, that was no longer automatic, sadly.) Both Katee and Karen did their usual, awesome jobs in their respective roles. I don’t know Brenton Thwaites at all, but he did a really great job. I’ll be looking forward to his performance in the upcoming Maleficent. Now, I do know Rory Cochrane from other roles and he, too, did a great job here. Really, the casting all around was just perfect.

If you’re looking for a movie to make you jump and even squirm a little in your head – and not from the gore – then this is your baby. I highly recommend it! Hopefully it’s still playing wherever you live.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Oculus – Review – no spoilers

  1. Totally agree here! I was so pleasently suprise with this film!

    Posted by carlybacon | May 21, 2014, 2:51 am
  2. Good review Nancy. Not very scary, but definitely a good time. Like most horror movies should be, rather than dull and drab.

    Posted by CMrok93 | May 21, 2014, 4:16 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

