//
you're reading...
movies, reviews

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 – review – minor spoilers

The Amazing Spiderman 2

The Amazing Spiderman 2

I have to admit that I didn’t see The Amazing Spider-man when it came out; I think I was extra poor at the time it came out. ;o) Still, I’ve been a Spider-man fan forever long enough that I didn’t think it would impact my enjoyment of the sequel. Plus, Kurtzman and Orci were the writers and I never turn down a chance to see any of their projects if I can go.

I think what I liked best about this movie was, surprisingly, the amount of time spent developing Electro. Usually the villains get a cursory background in movies of this length, especially if they’re probably not going to be in installments down the line. In this movie, I didn’t just understand what Max went through to turn into the villain, but sympathized with him changing into Electro, too. (and since that’s in one of the trailers, I don’t feel too bad about that ‘spoiler’)

I also really enjoyed how much fun Andrew Garfield showed Peter having as Spider-Man. In the previous reboot (which I loved, btw), there was way more angst for Peter than fun. Since I missed the first in this reboot (yes, I’ll be watching it soonish), I don’t know if that’s a carry-through or if he’s gotten through the angst already, but I’m glad that we see a Spidey who loves his ‘job.’

As I expected, the story was pretty much perfect. There weren’t any inconsistencies or plot holes that jarred me out of the movie and the balance of action to plot to romance was smooth and even. Everything fell where it was supposed to, but wasn’t predictable; it kept me totally involved. I honestly didn’t even notice the time passing and for a 142m movie, that’s a real accomplishment. But hey. That’s Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci. They’re pretty much master storytellers.

Loved the acting. Stellar job all around, but a special shout out to Jamie Foxx for the awesome double role played in such a believable way. Also, I’d never heard of Dane DeHaan (he played Harry Osborn) but this is definitely a guy to look out for. Checking him out on imdb.com told me the only reason I hadn’t heard of him is because I don’t have cable. This is one prolific dude.

So yeah. This is definitely one to see and if you can catch it in the theater, the SFX are totally worth it. I didn’t see it in 3D, but I bet it’s even better that way.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

