//
you're reading...
movies, reviews

Only Lovers Left Alive – review – no spoilers

only-lovers-left-alive-poster-dt

only-lovers-left-alive-poster

Do you know how good this film is? I saw it twice in the same week when I didn’t really have the money to go the second time. But since I didn’t know if it was going to be in the theater for another week, I went anyhow. That’s how good this film is.

This is going to be a short review because I don’t want to give much of anything away and yet, I need to pimp it like whoa.

It’s a vampire story, but the vampirism is almost secondary. It’s a love story, but not a romance. Basically, it’s not your typical anything and that’s exactly what makes it so awesome. It made me want to sit down and write something no one’s ever done before. (yeah, still working on that one. heh.)

The general plot is Tom Hiddleston and Tilda Swinton are centuries-old vampire lovers currently living on opposite sides of the world. (I guess after a few centuries, you don’t always need to be in one another’s pockets. hehehehe) Long story short, Tilda goes to Tom and then her sister shows up and… things happen.

Everything about this film – the acting, directing, story, music, photography – screams expertise and big budget, but it’s such a damn intimate look at their lives that it doesn’t feel like a big budget. Honestly, it can’t be labeled an indie film because of that budget, imo (not that I’ve looked up the actual numbers right now, but with Tom and Tilda and John Hurt? The casting budget alone had to be pretty massive), but it’s definitely not a mainstream film, either. Again, not typical in any respect.

And speaking of the music… it’s really cool when music becomes a character in a film and it was for sure in this one. Tom’s character is a musician, so the way the music thread through the storyline was really wonderful. I also love it when I’m exposed to entirely new musicians (Yasmine Hamdan!) and have to dash out and get their music. Not so great when I can’t afford it, but yeah. Music can make or break any film, any it was definitely well done all around.

And speaking of the story, what great writing! And the wit! I need for them to release the script so I can read it. I was actually hoping it was based on a book so I could run right out and get it, but sadly, that’s not the case.

I could wax on about this film for a couple of pages, but really, I only need to tell you to go see this if it’s anywhere near you. It’s outstanding.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

