//
you're reading...
movies, reviews

Locke – review – no spoilers

Locke movie posterWow. You know, for a movie that’s about not much at all, Locke is undoubtedly one of the best movies this year. I’ll admit that the only reason I went to see this movie is that I’m a huge Tom Hardy fan. I’ve pretty much adored him in everything I’ve ever seen which is – somewhat scarily – almost everything he’s done. (Sssh! I’m really Not a stalker ;o))

Anyhow, I thought from the poster – which is him behind the wheel – that there would be some kind of chase or escape involved, but nothin’ doin.’ Honestly, Locke is practically a monologue as the ‘action’ all takes place in his car with him on the phone. I know, I know, it sounds like a boring movie only a fan would love, but I swear it’s not! This is acting at its barest of bones when someone has nothing but their own emotions, imagination, and words (of the script) to give. There’s nothing to dress it up except what the actor brings to the role and dayam. Tom nailed it. So did the other actors, even though I never saw anyone else.

This script is truly what the right words can do, people. Despite the everyday subject matter, it captured just how bewildering and crazy someone’s life can get under the right circumstances. And that’s all I’m going to say about the plot because anything else would give it away.

I also want to mention that the direction and photography were great. I mean, you wouldn’t think there could be anything done with a British highway, but you’d be wrong.

If you have the chance to see this in the theater, then I recommend you do. Yes, the emotion will absolutely come through on any size screen, but there’s just something about a performance this damn good that you should see on a big screen.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Locke – review – no spoilers

  1. Good review Nancy. The reason why this works as well as it does is because Hardy’s amazing and he’s always interesting to watch. Even if he is just driving the whole time.

    Posted by CMrok93 | June 12, 2014, 9:12 pm
  2. I could not disagree more with you about this movie. I think I fell asleep through most of it. Where was the suspense? In his voice? From the moment you find out about the people he’s talking to on the phone, plot revealed, no more drama, movie over;

    Posted by Jermaine | August 18, 2014, 1:10 am
    • LOL! if you fell asleep then you missed the best parts where he pretty much loses his mind. But that’s okay. It’s not a movie for everyone. :o)

      Posted by Nancy M. Griffis | August 19, 2014, 5:05 am

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

