//
you're reading...
movies, reviews

Maleficent – Review – No spoilers

MaleficentThis is just going to be a brief review because I don’t want to accidentally spoil anything and I can’t go into detail without doing so. I’m thinking of doing a writing/villain character post in the future, though, and will definitely use Maleficent in that one, which will have spoilers.

I was really looking forward to this movie since I first heard that it was coming out. I’ve loved Angelina Jolie in, well, everything. Add to that the actual role of a villain and oooh! I was verra excited! The one thing I couldn’t figure out was how – or even if – they would get around the fact that in the original movie, Maleficent dies. Not to worry, I won’t say one way or the other about that tidbit so as not to spoil anyone. All I’ll say is I love what they did and how they incorporated the important parts from the original movie.

The SFX in this movie are absolutely astounding. All the fairies and creatures and the battles were totally off the charts. Well worth the extra money if you go see it in IMAX or 3D, imo, though it works just fine on the regular theater, too.

I would not call this a children’s movie in any way, shape, or form. Honestly, I probably wouldn’t let in kids under 10 to see it. It’s Disney, but not typical Disney, dealing with the darker emotions of rage, betrayal, and bitterness in a pretty blunt format. Plus they don’t stint on the battle scenes, though it wasn’t gory so much as violent.

I want to give a shout-out to Sam Riley, who played Diaval, Maleficent’s raven. Diaval was almost a Jiminy-type character, but with a lot more sarcasm and wit. I thoroughly enjoyed his performance. I hadn’t seen him in anything before this, but I damn sure want to see him in lots more from here on out.

I’m sure this one will be in theaters for a couple more weeks at least, so go ahead. Give it a watch.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

