//
you're reading...
writing

My Monthly Writing Experiment #2

Just a short post tonight!

Since my first writing experiment – writing 300 words (or more) every day for a month – was such a success, I’ve decided to double down. This time, I’m going to write a whole chapter every day for a month. I’m not going to limit myself this time, either; I will pop from novel to novel (or script to script), at a whim as long as I nail down at least one chapter. And if I work on a script, then it will be the equivalent of a chapter, probably 3-5 scenes depending on the length of the scene. The main difference in this experiment is that I’m not going to accept editing as writing for the next month unless it’s truly significant, like my current rewrite of Mind Games.

The point of this experiment is the same as the last one: to develop better good writing habits and prove to myself that I can do it. I’ve slacked off on my writing this last month and it’s time to get back to work. This challenge will get my brain going and creativity pumping. I will bully and cajole my muse in turn (copious amounts of chocolate may be involved) to get the requisite pages done each night.

Likely novels I’ll work on: Bludgeoned & Butchered (cozy mystery), Comic Book Heroes (comic-book/urban fantasy), The Sidekick (YA/Fantasy), Redux (YA/Romance) Mind Games (scifi), Eternal Investigations (paranormal) and Fluctuations (scifi) sequels.

Likely scripts to work on: Under the Dome spec, my noir feature, and Family Business (action pilot)

I’ll check in via the blog probably (hopefully) once a week to let everyone know how it’s going! Who’s with me? The more, the merrier! 😀

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “My Monthly Writing Experiment #2

  1. Yay! Go to it! I’ve slacked off for the past couple of weeks and need to get back to it. My girls are still sitting in the doctor’s office being arrested.

    Posted by Rachel Olivier | July 24, 2014, 6:07 am

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

