//
you're reading...
movies, reviews

The Maze Runner – Review – no spoilers

There’s  not much I can say about this movie without spoiling it pretty much completely other than the fact that I really enjoyed it a lot. The basic premise is Thomas wakes up in a “glade” with a bunch of other young adult boys from about 12-18 years of age (I initially thought it was a Lord of the Flies scenario since I haven’t read the books) and the glade is surrounded by a maze of massive stone walls that change the pattern every night. Long story short, Thomas begins to shake things up and tons of things happen that I can’t say until you’ve seen the movie. ;o)

I will say that it’s been a longgg time since I’ve seen a movie that made me actually hold my breath with suspense and this one did it about four times.

The acting all around was outstanding. Everything was, really; the direction, the story, the set was just breathtakingly huge. I mean, I’m sure green screens were involved, but dayam. The stunts and close calls were truly incredible.

Another thing that I’ll say is that Dylan O’Brien’s going to have zero trouble shifting from tv to big screen movies, if that’s the direction he wants to take. This movie proves that, hands down.

Now, the movie is rated PG-13 and I’m definitely going to stand by that. And if you’re taking your kid who’s near that age, make sure they’re the kind of kid who doesn’t scare easy. This is not for younger kids, imo.

So yeah. If you’re looking for an action flick with a bit of a scifi twist, this is the one to see.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “The Maze Runner – Review – no spoilers

  1. Who was your favorite character?

    Posted by luknytelukne | September 21, 2014, 11:10 am
  2. Thanks for the quick review. It is now on my list to see. Now, if only I could rope my husband into going…

    Posted by alkaplan | September 21, 2014, 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

