//
you're reading...
life, writing

Navel Gazing – 2014

I know. It sounds like an awful title for a purple prose book or something, yes? But I’ve decided to get introspective before the New Year to beat the rush.

So 2014 was a mixed bag for me. Some very serious lows: broken ankle, unemployed, broke – yes, that’s the timeline; and a few really great highs – two publishing contracts and a great new job! Had a shit-ton of rejections from agents the entire freakin year, which sucked. Started acupuncture last month, which is awesome.

The emotional, of course, is tied into the physical (which can best be summed up as FUCK! OW! for the year) and the financial (which, yeah, but I’m doing much better now). So basically, at any given time I was severely depressed, apathetic, and/or hiding under the covers. That, too, is better now that my work life has settled down.

Lovelife? DOA.

Friends? Awesome.

Family? Also a mixed bag.

Inquiring minds (possibly) want to know: am I better off now than when 2014 started? Oh, hell yeah. The ankle’s nearly healed, I love my new job, I’m crawling out from under the blankets even on the weekends, and while I’m not catching any agent’s eye for my writing, I am still writing. Someone once told me they admired my perseverance with the script writing/agent seeking and I think I said, “Oh, I’m just too stubborn to quit,” which is probably what’s going to wind up on my headstone. heh. /morbid moment

So what’s in the view for 2015? Well. I have a short story and related novel being published with signed contracts and everything, so YAY! I also plan to film a webseries in February and post it to youtube. I’m in the midst of the sequel to said soon-to-be-published novel as well other novels and original scripts that I’ll keep pummeling at agents and contests. And, of course, I’ll keep you all inundated with my excessive movie and tv and reading enthusiasm with reviews. :o)

I may never get an agent or become as successful as Laurel K Hamilton or Joss Whedon (or any other mainstream writer), but that doesn’t mean I’ll stop writing. Really, I can’t. I may take (mental) breaks here and there, but I always come back to the keyboard. It’s an obsession. Although… I’m pretty sure that’s what being a writer is.

I hope everyone has an awesome holiday season no matter what you celebrate (or score time off if you don’t celebrate anything) and a great New Year to come! Be safe!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

