//
you're reading...
movies, reviews

It Follows – Review – Spoilers

itfollows

I hadn’t actually seen any previews for It Follows before going to see it. I’d heard lots of “best horror film in years” in a bunch of different reviews though and had good hopes. I love horror films as most of you know and it had been a while since I’d gotten a good fright. Plus it was an indie film, so that made me hope as well.

Sadly, that hope was unfulfilled. This was, without a doubt, the most boring horror film I’ve ever seen. I nearly fell asleep twice. It was the slowest movie I’ve been to in a very long time. There was one time I jumped, but not because of anything fearful. It had been so quiet and dull for so long that when something banged on a window in the movie, I jumped. That’s not scaring someone, that’s human nature and a cheap shot, imo.

I’ll tell you what I did like: the actors. They were all really great and I’m looking forward to watching them in future projects.

The lack of an actual scare wasn’t, however, the main reason I didn’t like this movie. Spoilers below, if you’re interested.

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

S

P

A

C

E

H

E

R

E

So aside from being boring as hell the real thing I hated was how sex was equated with death. I’ll do you one better. The writer equates underage sex with death. Basically, the only way for someone to get rid of the curse/evil spirit and save their own life is to have sex with someone else and pass it on like an STD.

OHMYGOD. Seriously?? I try not to disparage, especially an indie film that took a lot of guts to get made. But with all the crap already in the world about how sex is evil, did you really need to make a movie about it? Ugh. I didn’t walk out, but it was pretty close to the end.

Can’t recommend this one to anyone unfortunately.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

