//
you're reading...
life, music, reviews

Lifehouse – Out Of The Wasteland – Review

LIFEHOUSE_OOTW_Cover_Final-copy-770x770Surprise! I’m also a musician. hehehehe. I don’t have the chops I used to and my music theory days are long gone, but I do know what I like and what’s awful. ;o) I don’t often do music reviews, but maybe that will change. Life’s a journey, right? And I sure as hell listen to, you know, everything (except country) so there’s that.

I’ve been a big fan of Lifehouse for a Very Long Time now, since they came out with No Name Face. I’ve always loved their lyrics and the way the music just sinks into my bones. That’s not to say I’ve adored every track on every release, because I haven’t. (Hello, Near Life Experience, I’m looking at you and your Bob Dylan wannabe-ness). But that’s okay, because real fans accept the good with the bad.

I just started listening to Out of the Wasteland today and I’ve gotta say, I’m pleased – and kinda not – with this one.

On the one hand, it’s a solid release that is quite nice to listen to. I enjoyed the heck out of it and I’m sure once I listen to it more, I’ll have favorites that I put on repeat for hours at a time just like with their other releases. I always do. On the other hand, it’s a solid release that is quite nice to listen to. I say this in a negative light too because I got spoiled by Almeria and Smoke and Mirrors which was, to me anyhow, Lifehouse stretching their wings and experimenting a little with different sounds. I loved that. (and keep in mind, I don’t mean they were experimental music albums, just experimenting on their own sound) They were still recognizably them, but it was a different sound and beat. I instantly fell in love with Almeria especially for just that reason.

I don’t know if those two releases didn’t sell as well as their earlier ones or what. Maybe they just wanted to go back to ‘their’ sound. Who knows? And it’s not like I’m disappointed in Out of the Wasteland, because I’m not. This is Lifehouse at their most Lifehouse-y, if that makes sense, and that’s awesome.

If you’re already a fan, then you’ll love Wasteland. If you’re not a fan yet or never even heard of them where have you been, this is a good one to start with and work backwards.

(Also, go Lifehouse! Oboe is a bold choice these days. ;o))

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

