//
you're reading...
movie review, movies

Trainwreck – Review – No Spoilers

trainwreckOh My God this movie is freakin hilarious! I haven’t laughed that hard in sooo long. My cheeks hurt, my jaw hurt, and I was crying with laughter a couple of times. That’s the sign of an awesome comedy for sure.

Now here’s what you don’t know about Trainwreck: it’s about life. Amy’s character (whose name is Amy, heh) is at “that age” where everyone expects you to be – or at least start to be – settling down; i.e.: getting married and having a family. That is seriously not Amy’s thing. She’s also got family problems. And job problems. And relationship problems. Honestly, the only problem she doesn’t have is getting sex whenever she wants it. Thankfully, there was only one “She’s a slut” joke/moment and it was handled awesomely.

The cast in this was great. I didn’t know any of the main characters except Amy and Tilda Swinton (and omg I didn’t even recognize her!) and John Cena (who I didn’t know wanted to act). Like Amy, I’m not at all into sports so I only knew LeBron James when she was introduced to him. hehehe. There were also quite a few unexpected cameos, which was a lot of fun.

The writing in this was also great. It was a very real story and I think pretty much everyone will connect with it. The writing got a teeny bit slow towards the end of the middle, but honestly, that’s probably because I’m a writer. I doubt anyone else will notice it.

If you’re looking for something to make you laugh til it hurts (and cry a little in certain places), this is the movie to go see. This is not, however, for kids nor a family movie. It’s a comedy for adults so please leave the kiddies at home.

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 651 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

