//
you're reading...
nanowrimo2015, writing

NaNo Progress Report – Week 1

Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 11.09.43 PM

One week down, three and a bit to go!

I hadn’t realized just how out of the habit of writing nightly I’d gotten. I mean, I did because I was watching tv and chatting with friends online, using facebook and twitter… basically doing everything a writer shouldn’t do if they want to be productive. And I haven’t been all that productive this past year. Oh, I’ve been working on three different sequels, but it’s taking me forever and a day to get through them even though they’re all planned out and the writing goes well when I sit down… I just need to sit my ass down and write.

Aside from that rather painful realization, it was a decent week! Out of seven days, I only missed two and one of those was because I had a paying writing gig! (that was very exciting) My word count stands at 17,118 which is pretty good, in my not so humble opinion! When I wrote up the outline for this one, I figured that it was going to be a long one. Given that I’m only just in the middle of chapter two and at nearly 20k words, that’s a definite.

A surprising thing I’m finding with writing fantasy is that it’s coming along a lot slower than I thought it would. Working in a pure fantasy world is actually more difficult. Partly because I have to create things from scratch as I go along; things it didn’t occur to me that I’d need when I fleshed out the world building. Like a military org chart. And curse words. And what the city looks like. And animals. It’s… oddly draining. I didn’t expect that at all. But also because it’s stretching writer muscles I haven’t used since I was a teenager, back in the Stone Age. I thought it would be akin to writing my urban fantasy genre but it sooo isn’t.

(I also may have created a new writing thing that’s kind of a prologue but can’t be since it’s 17 pages long but it’s not a chapter because it takes place before the story begins and yet it’s pretty essential as it stands…)

So yeah! Things are going well and I’m starting Week 2 tired but determined to keep going. I want to hit 75k by the end of the month and if I force myself to sit and do the work, I’m positive that I can do it.

I hope everyone else who’s doing NaNo this year is having just as good of an experience as I am. Keep it going! You can do it!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

