//
you're reading...
nanowrimo2015, writing

NaNo Update – Week 2

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 7.51.01 PMSo we’re halfway through the month and I’m honestly surprised to say I’m halfway through the word count! 25,005 as of last night (and another 3k-ish today) which is perfectly on track to finish 50k words as of the end of the month.

Here’s the problem. Earlier last week I was trying to figure out what was in the next chapter when I realized that the outline was waaayyy too broad. It was more of an overview than an outline. So I spent the majority of the week creating an actual outline that tells me what’s really going to happen. This ended up splitting the first chapter into four chapters and writing completely new chapters 1-3 which leaves me with 7 chapters of which 4 are done (if out of order) and 3 half done, but altogether gives me 28k words, give or take.

The “fun” part of all this is that the new outline ends where chapter 10 in the original overview/outline. Since the original one had, oh, 40 chapters that means I’ve got at least 3 or 4 books worth of material. And that would be awesome if I had the flippin’ time! So much to write, so little time. That’s what I get for needing a day job to pay the bills. ;o)

On the other hand, I’m really happy with how this new outline stands and the writing is going muuuch faster. It really does help to have a blueprint.

I will see you all next Sunday with my third progress report! Happy writing everyone!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

  • RT @SaraJBenincasa: Jesuit attitude is my favorite attitude because they will throw shade with footnotes and MLA citations https://t.co/6sV… 2 days ago
  • RT @ChrisEvans: Wow. Are there any Republicans in Washington who will take a REAL stand? Are there ANY leaders left? History will remember. 2 days ago
  • RT @shondarhimes: He bragged at inexperience- turns out he's unqualified. He mocked/shamed/groped - turns out he's a bully. He embraced rac… 2 days ago
