//
you're reading...
nanowrimo2015, writing

Nano Update – Week 3

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 11.27.01 PM

Hello hello! So we’re entering into the home stretch of the challenge and I’m are still going strong, which is a pleasant surprise. I’m not writing every single day, but making up for it on the days that I miss which is why I crossed over the 40k line! Very pleased, as I’m sure you can imagine.

I’m coming across some pretty funny things writing in fantasy that I haven’t run into with scifi and urban fantasy genres. For instance: in a non-technological world without watches/clocks, how do they tell time? Or, without indoor plumbing as we know it, what sort of bathrooms do they have? And should I create new fruits and vegetables and animals, use ones readers already take for granted, or a little of each? Then there’s the whole religious aspect; what kind of Gods or Goddesses do these people worship and how? One thing I particularly enjoyed was coming up with new curse words. ;o)

As I mentioned in the last update, I redid the outline. I’ve spent this past week adding new chapters and cleaning up the existing ones, which I’m still doing. There’s been so much that needed to be adding in the front end of the book that I haven’t actually progressed further. It feels like I’m getting nothing done which makes me impatient, but I’m filling in the blanks and giving more depth to the main characters. All of which is extremely necessary.

…and also discovering that writing 14 year old boys is apparently in my wheelhouse. At least when it comes to their sense of humor.

At this point it’s exceedingly obvious that I’m not going to finish the novel by 11/30. No way no how. I’m expecting this book to hit the 130-150k range when I finally type The End. But then, it’s also exceedingly obvious that I’ll more than make the 50k challenge of NaNo by 11/30 without any trouble whatsoever. This will be the first time in five damn years that I can say that with confidence, especially since I have no Thanksgiving plans which gives me two extra solid days of writing.

Not to worry! Once NaNo’s over and done with, I will post regular updates about how the first (and subsequent) drafts are going. And I will surely squee loud and clear when it’s finished, that’s for sure.

Of course I just realized that I still have no official title for this thing…

That’s all for now! I’ll see you next week for the fourth and final update! Happy writing, everyone!

About Nancy M. Griffis

Author and screenwriter who loves scifi/action/adventure/urban fantasy genres. I have two published novels, Mind Games and Eternal Investigations, as well as a short story published for charity called "Home Fires Burning." All are available through amazon.com and barnesandnobles.com.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Nano Update – Week 3

  1. This is my first NaNo, and in my naivete, thought that I could actually type ‘The End’ on day 30. Now that I’m close to 37K words, and I finally decided to use Scrivener’s wonderful cork board to help me find a missing plot arc, I now know that I am barely halfway to the end of this novel. But now that I know it is possible to write an immense amount of words in 30 days, I am sure that I can type ‘The End’ in December. Of course half of my problem was in not starting out with a good outline. Lesson learned!

    See you at the finish line!

    Posted by Angelique | November 23, 2015, 8:01 am
    • Yup! I find outlines innnvaluable! Some writers can write by the seat of their pants but I am not one of them. Well. Technically I can, but it takes way the hell too long. I’m too impatient. ;o)

      If you’re curious how I do them, I did a post sometime back about it.

      Posted by Nancy M. Griffis | November 23, 2015, 4:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Nancy at the Tim Burton exhibit in L.A.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

Me on Twitter – NMGrif

  • RT @SaraJBenincasa: Jesuit attitude is my favorite attitude because they will throw shade with footnotes and MLA citations https://t.co/6sV… 2 days ago
  • RT @ChrisEvans: Wow. Are there any Republicans in Washington who will take a REAL stand? Are there ANY leaders left? History will remember. 2 days ago
  • RT @shondarhimes: He bragged at inexperience- turns out he's unqualified. He mocked/shamed/groped - turns out he's a bully. He embraced rac… 2 days ago
